Ratings based on 368 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Could have been in cleaner conditions

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The main entrance door was bored up. Cigarette butts and old chicken bones in the walk way of the main entrance. The dineing area was dirty, the carpet was old torn and very very DIRTY. The garbage cans had not been cleaned .food & liquids was on the outside of the garbage can. I requested to see the room before I payed. The choach was very dirty. The Bed linen was clean, that's the only reason I stayed. The bathroom had hair on the floor & the walls. If the hotel was cleaned properly it would get more Stars & guest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: DIDN'T STAY LONG ENOUGH TO FIND OUT!!!!
This place should be closed, it is unsecure, unclean, unfriendly staff. It is poorly managed, and needs to be remodeled.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belleville,MI

Need a major update

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Everything in that place needs an update. The beds was hard as a rock. The carpets were ripped up. The sinks and showers was dirty. The hotel staff was great it's just the place that was horrible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southfeild mi

Decent Rooms

Posted Dec 20, 2016
My experience was completely deplorable! The staff was rude and very unorganized, the bathroom was locked when I arrived and I've called repeatedly for service and nobody came. The bath tub was denigrating along with the stained sofa. I will never stay nor recommend anyone to stay there!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't pay a cash security deposit wont get it back

Posted Dec 12, 2016
The latch on the door was stripped like the door was kicked in. There was mold on the show curtain upstairs. There water corrosion on the ceiling. The railing was broke
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawthorne Suites, Southfield, MI

Horrible Experience & Horrible Conditions

Posted Dec 3, 2016
The first room I stay in was terrible. The pillow cases and sheet had cosmetic make-up on it. I asked for them to change bedding and clean tub & sinks for 5 days in a row, at least 3 times each day. Only for them to tell me the staff had left for the day, that wad truly Also, I celebrated my birthday with family. I had not seen many of my family members in 4 years. The hotel did not have a safe and I was going to deposit funds in bank first thing Monday. My gift bag with all my cards filled with total $253 plus $25 gift card to Marshall's, two canisters of special, Green Tea and Polaroid pictures was stolen from my room. I reported it to hotel, they asked person who cleaned room and they claimed they did not take it. The manager said he would follow up with rest of staff and to meet him, Curtis, at 10:00 am next morning. He was no where yo be found. It took him until 2:30 pm in afternoon before I actually seen him. I made a police report with police officers who was at the Hawthorn Suites hote for some other incident. If it wasn't for me already changing hotels and my sister help paying for room, I would have left hotel and went to another one. The hotel only changed my room, they never followed up with what happened to my stolen bag and money. And they were absolutely disrespectful, rude and uncaring about how to resolve issue. They argued, lied and insulted my integrity, when I requested a partial refund to resolve all above issues. This was to no avail.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Hawthorne suites in Southfield Michigan

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Hawthorne suites in Southfield Michigan is a terrible place. I had been on the road for eight hours it was the Thanksgiving holiday and I was ready to go to bed. I have always booked my trips with Expedia and so I trust their choices of hotels to deal with. However when I arrived at the hotel they were drug dealer standing outside as I proceeded into the lobby I noticed that the lobby sort of reminded me of a motel use for prostitutes. One customer was at the front desk changing his room because there was blood on his sheets. They refused to give me my money back even though I didn't feel safe in the environment. Thank God for Expedia they found me another hotel and gave me a voucher to replace the money that the Hawthorne suites refused to refund. When I got back in my car the lady who was standing in the lobby told me I was doing the right thing because the hotel used to be nice but has been taken over by younger people who come and have sex for a night or throw wild parties. Southfield is a nice area and the hotel is in a very nice area but I would recommend that no one go there to the Hawthorne suites. Ever.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Never again coming back

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The kitchen was horrible food was still on the floor and the bath tub was dirty and walls in the shower .. food behind the tv desk.. I will not ever return I wish I can get my money back because I wasn't happy at all
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Run away as fast as you can!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The Wyndham brand should either force this place to do a full renovation or drop its name. The first room was, dirty and very outdated. The next room they gave me was worse. Flithy carpet, filthy couch, filthy everything! If I were homeless and it was the only option, then yes I would probably stay but since I'm not homeless and I do have a standard, NO! The owner should be totally ashamed as should any employees. I would rather be unemployed than work somewhere I could not be proud of. I wonder if the owner would allow his family to stay here for a week. PS the photos would not upload individually they are larger than the 5 mb, I could only do what you see below
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Horrible room and service

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Noting
Cons: Everything - room cleanliness, hotel service and breakfast all need complete overhaul
There was nothing good about this stay. We booked a premium room at the hotel through Expedia. We got one of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in (and I travel quite a bit). Carpets were filthy, no hot water running, clogged vanity and bathtub, cracked walls, cracked cabinets, We asked for a room change and got the same room quality 3 times. We asked for a refund, called expedia with no luck on both ends. We threatened to leave and file an official complaint, then they finally decided to give us a renovated room which was finally ok. Breakfast buffet (as part of room booking) was horrible as well - no hot water for tea, stale french toast pieces provided, no tea bags - I asked for tea, they gave me a tea bag only from kitchen, no milk, sugar, etc. Nothing else available - even when we arrived an hour and a half before cutoff. Will never recommend this hotel to anyone.