Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel stay

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Cons: Sound proof rooms since you are so close to I75.
I enjoyed my stay and would return, however I would now ask for a room not so close to the expressway, traffic woke me up at 4:00 a.m and never went back to sleep, they need to maybe put some extra sound proofing in those particular rooms. If I do return I will ask for a room furthest away from the expressway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Staff did not offer helpful info at check in and was not responsive to requests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry to hear that the staff was not helpful at check-in. We will work on customer service skills so everyone is treated with wonderful hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Republic of Panama

Nice facility in Troy Michigan

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Location. Layout, Room size, Breakfast.
Cons: Keep it like it is.
Stayed here before, that is why I returned. Kitchen, living room area, large bed. Large bathroom, seperate toilet and shower area. Plenty of closet space. Parking is close to room. Great breakfast in common building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
THANK YOU for your recent stay with us! We are happy to have you as a repeat guest and we greatly appreciate your review. We look forward to seeing you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Very clean and roomy. Bed was SO comfy. The staff was extremely attentive. Would recommend this hotel and in fact, I have reservations there for my next stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
THANK YOU for being our guest and for taking the time to provide us with a review about your stay at the Hawthorn Suites Troy! We look forward to seeing you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Pet friendly!
Cons: Bed was high for easily getting into and out of for a 5'4" woman.
Location: Close to shopping, restaurants and highways.great Location.
Nice to have basic hot breakfast in the morning to start the day. Friendly staff and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Hi Janice! Thank you for being our guest at the Hawthorn Suites Troy. We are a couple miles from Somerset Collection Mall and only a 10 minute drive to Great Lakes Crossings. We hope to see you again soon during your next shopping trip!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Rude MTX man

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Hotel is ok, good free breakfast. Check in staff good. Room had a kitchen but was run down and not real clean. MTX guy running the leafblower saw me wiping my new car looked right at me and blew leaves all over it. What a jerk!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you being a guest at our hotel and for taking the time to write a review about your experience. We are so, so sorry that you had leaves all over you! We will definitely make it a priority to discuss this with him to ensure that this never happens again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Facilities, Nice Location, Helpful Staff

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Everything really.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: Gym across the street, food and fuel also nearby.
I was very pleased with my stay at Hawthorn Suites of Troy and would recommend this hotel to anyone. The location itself is secure and easy to get to from the highway. In addition, there is a Kona Grill which is within walking distance, a gym across the street, and several different dining options very close as well. The staff is efficient and friendly. Check-in and check-out was pleasant and quick. The room itself was spacious, and included very comfortable bedding, a large TV, and full kitchen. The bathroom was also very large with good water pressure. The complimentary breakfast was top-notch, and included turkey sausage, eggs, and waffles, in addition to the other 'standard' items (cereal, toast, oatmeal, coffee, fruit). The breakfast area was clean and pleasant. The next time I am in Troy, I will try to stay at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and the centralized location to many restaurants. We look forward to seeing you again at the Hawthorn Suites Troy!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel with roaches

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Staff was very nice. Room at first glance was okay... no housekeeping on day 1, day 2 roaches in kitchen, day 3 slipped an fell in shower due to cleaner.. loud guests as well... never will I stya here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
My experience once I first got there was horrible because the front attended gave me a total for the room, which in my mind I already was aware of paying. I live 45 minutes away.I gave the attended my card, instantly the card was declined. In the meantime I'm trying to figure out is this possible because I know I have the correct about on the card plus more. The reason my card was declined because the attended ran my cardaughter for 324, which I only had 273 on my card. The attended did not explain i had to pay a security deposit of 150 ahead of time. Otherwise I could have made other arrangements. leaving my card declined and also locked, because it was over the Amount. I had to have my sister wire me some money in order to pay for the room. The entire time staying, I had no sources of money. Which then I could not enjoy myself as far as ordering food, having gas, or going shopping any sort of way. I wanted to enjoy the Troy area. This was my first time staying in troy, I almost wanted to cry, because I could not enjoy myself, I had no funds available to me after my card was locked with my credit union.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location but everything else ....???

Posted Aug 23, 2016
very poorly maintained property. First room too noisy, not well kept overall. Shifted to 2nd room - worse than the first - moldy, musty smell, cracked bathtub, broken door handle for closets, spiders in room, mouse in room.. Supposed hot breakfast - not - just a buffet style normal fare... very disappointing