Ratings based on 769 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to where we wanted to go.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Close to where we were going.
Cons: Breakfast seemed a bit expensive.
Location: Ford Field and Comerica Park
Everything connected with the hotel was what we had hoped.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
We're glad that you enjoyed your overall stay. Our breakfast price is very competitive compared to the other hotels downtown that charge the same as us for only an omelet or a lot more for an all-you-can-eat buffet like ours. We hope you'll consider staying with us in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pleasant and helpful staff, hot coffee in the lobby every morning...within waking distance to Ford Field, Tigers stadium and the people mover. Great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you the next time you are in Detroit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Great location if going to a Lions or Tigers game. Close to many activities and restaurants.
Great breakfast at the hotel. Very friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be at your service again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Did not give me the room I reserved.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Didn't get the room I reserved. And didn't tell me the room wasn't available until I checked in and seen they had given me a guest room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We apologize for your reservation issue. We do our best to honor all room reservations but unfortunately we were not able to provide the suite that was booked due to an unforeseen issue. We did take off $100 off the rate for the inconvenience you experienced. We apologize again and hope you'll consider staying with us in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Visited Detroit for 1 night to watch Bills & Lions game. Camerica Park is directly across the street from Ford Field so this hotel will suit Baseball or Football fans.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review. We're glad that the location made your stay great. We hope you'll stay with us again in the future!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel, just watch your receipt.

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
I had an ambiguous $10 pantry room charge. We never charged anything from the pantry to the room. When I called to resolve the issue, the receptionist said she would take off the charge. Hoping this was an honest mistake, but I also am curious if there isn't a shady practice going on at this location of charging unsuspecting visitors small amounts and hoping they don't notice. That would be...disappointing. Now, looking at my credit card statement for the weekend, it appears that instead of removing $10, she re-ran my credit card for the previous amount (less $10) BUT then added $3.54 for some unknown reason. SO.... Now I have a total of nearly $500 on my credit card for one night's stay. This is unacceptable and will be resolved.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for the billing experience you had during your stay. It was an accidental pantry charge that has been removed. We do not charge our guests for anything that they have not acquired during their stay. Our front desk manager will be reaching out to you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Robbed by the hotel.

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at the front desk and valet were not the nicest people could have been from working and dealing with so many ppl. They had so much going on that they asked for a credit card to hold for the room I told them my card information was already give to hotels.Com and yhe room was paid in full .they told me I could not check in without a credit card on file for accidentals. When I gave him the card he swiped it and charged me for the room again. When I told him what he did he said it will fall off in 3-5 days. Our room was on the 8th floor but they didn't tell us that it's above a night club the bass from the music was super loud .to make matters worse the car valet guy told me it's $25 per day to park the car in the lot. So I came to Detroit to get robbed by the hotel unbelievable
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We're sorry to hear about your experience. It is hotel policy, as with most hotels, to ask for a credit card for incidentals only. We do apologize for the billing mistake that occurred in our system. We have refunded the card and released the funds. Since our hotel is located in a major city, parking is limited and we have purchased the parking spaces for our guests. We have been working with the police and mayor's offices to prevent the bar across the street from disturbing our guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Michigan

Perfect Location For Sports

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Loved our stay! Everything was great except the swimming area. The pool was very cold, and the area was extremely small. There are only 6 chairs in the entire pool area, and there is maybe 1 foot of space between the chair and edge of the pool. It was quite difficult to walk past someone without falling in. Part of the reason we chose this hotel was because it gave my 4 yr old something to do before the Lions game, and the morning of check out. He only spent a total of 5 minutes in the pool because he was too cold. I just felt like it can use some updates. The staff was 100% amazing! They were friendly and knowledgeable, and they really made my son feel special when he was talking about his upcoming birthday. When he mentioned he was going to be 5 in a couple weeks, one staff member in particular went above and beyond and offered a special snack. It made my son's trip! The rooms where very spacious, clean, comfortable, and quiet. There was no sound coming from the hallways, and we stayed right next to the elevator. It was the perfect stay. I definitely plan to stay again, and I'd encourage anyone looking for a downtown hotel to consider the Hilton Garden.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience. We appreciate the feedback about the pool. We are under new ownership and will share this with them and will also make sure engineering knows as well. We will be going through a full room renovation early next year. We're glad that your experience with our staff made your stay great. Happy early birthday to him! We can't wait to see you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Make sure you bring your Expedia Email!!

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The bartender was very friendly, and valet parking was very speedy.
Cons: The bathtubs were outdated
Location: Comerica Park, Greektown, lots of restaurants
Make sure you have your confirmation from Expedia. The hotel clerk at the front desk said he only had me down for one room, but I booked two. I asked if they had any rooms available, and he did not. However, when I found my email and showed him the confirmation - one became available.... The bartender was very friendly, and valet parking was very speedy. Overall for the price paid on Expedia and the location within walking distance of Greektown and Comerica it was worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by GM , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We're sorry to hear about your check in experience. We always recommend that all guests bring their confirmations no matter which way you book. We do apologize for the issue with the second reservation being in our system. Sometimes the systems don't communicate properly but we are glad that the desk was able to resolve the issue.
5 out of 5
by angela from temperance, mi

close to the tigers and lions!!

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
loved the 12pm check out! great staff, very clean and comfy room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review. We're thrilled that you stay with us was great. We hope to be at your service again soon!