Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice place, friendly staff; rooms are dated.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
My stay here for the week was adequate. The staff is very friendly and helpful, definitely the highlight of the stay. The room was ok, clean everything looked to be aging and in need of some work. It did the job for a business trip and the location is convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Rosy E., Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we value your comments and I will share them with our staff. We hope to see you soon when you are in the area. Rosy E. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, DE

Good location.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Complimentary breakfasts provided were very good. Hotel staff very friendly. Noise level a bit much. Great location to downtown Birmingham, MI. Room rate a tad high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Rosy E., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got to explore downtown Birmingham. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good hotel close to town of Birmingham

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Location: This hotel was near to the main street of Birmingham for shopping, restaurants, etc.
Hotel was in a good location close to town, had a pretty good breakfast room with lots of choices, clean rooms & nice people. Coffee machine in room didn't work - just noticed on last day. Very pleased.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Rosy E. - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I will make sure we check the coffee machines. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New hotel fills like 5 stars hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
New hotel fills like 5 stars hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at the Townsend because they are "Pet Friendly" However, when I come on my own, the Holiday Inn serves all my needs... Comfortable room and free breakfast. Room was clean and bathroom/bedroom was very comfortable. Enjoyed the single server coffee pot (which Townsend doesn't provide).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, friendly staff

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Perfect location for being in Birmingham. The hotel is quite average but the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. I thought the decor was very nice in its browns and blues and the windows were big and brought in lots of natural light. I watched a beautiful sunset the evening I arrived from my room. The tub and shower area was very dark because the shower curtain blocked the light, as there was none in the shower itself. The supplied shampoo etc. was nice but came in stupid containers that were hard to get anything out of. One can walk right into Birmingham from the hotel; it's just a block from shopping and restaurants which is very nice.
3 out of 5
by Sandy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sammi from Miami

Hotel moved up the street!!

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful, clean, comfortable room. Only comment was the cracked glass window which was pointed out to management.
4 out of 5
by Diane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2016 on Hotels