Ratings based on 732 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel down Not earn 3 1/2 Stars in my book!

Posted Jan 15, 2016
The hotel is out dates and need a lot of work from top to bottom . There nothing around it except the beautiful Fisher Theater so do not walk the streets at night . Everything is old and needs a lot of work to get a 3 1/2 Star rating .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gosford Australia

Good hotel but not close to downtown

Posted Jan 14, 2016
The hotel was good enough but in need of some refurbishment and not really close to downtown. Staff generally very pleasant. Restaurant good and relatively good value. The Fisher Building almost next door is worth a visit if architecture is your interest. Because our flight was cancelled we couldn't get there on our first night and the hotel refunded the whole day's tariff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

St.Regis, Detroit

Posted Dec 6, 2015
No bottled water, No refg in room. Old thick and small TV.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GrandRapids,Mi

Nice location

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Relaxing during our two nite stay. We stayed at the StRegis 30 years ago on our wedding nite. Loved the vintage look the hotel had then. We were able to relax and enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Great location, comfortable space.

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, price, quiet, beds.
Cons: They can't do anything about their old heating system, and it was fine once we opened the window. I'd like some kind of stopper for the tub.
Location: Detroit Institute of Art, Detroit Historical Museum an easy walk. New Center Eatery across the street for breakfast, lunch, dinner, desserts.
We loved being able to walk to the Detroit Institute of Art and and Detroit Historical Museum enjoyed the New Center Eatery across the street for breakfast. Great for people attending things at Wayne State. The hotel was very quiet and the beds comfortable. We had to open the window to bring down the room temperature, since it was not adjustable, and the tub didn't hold water well. But the staff were gracious and friendly, and the room just what we needed. We like the minimalist decor with plain walls. It was a great hotel for the modest price. We'll stay there the next time we travel to Detroit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convienant

Posted Nov 29, 2015
We booked a standard room for $152 and found our room dirty with construction in the room. Not what we expected for that price. I did complain and got moved up to a suite and received complemtary breakfast for my family. The suite was wonderful and so was the staff. I'd come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Historic feel but room needs updates

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Overall wad what I expected. Not much around. TV was small and old but rooms were clean and staff very nice. It is $20 per day to park your car 😕 not too happy about that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great for the price

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: Location
Budget was tight, and this really hit expectations for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Katherine

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
The room itself was standard. Wasn't smelly or dirty, so we were fine with it. However, after trying to log onto their internet connection for about 30 minutes, we made a call to the front desk to ask for assistance. The person who answered pretty much scoffed at the idea of even attempting to do something to fix the problem, and basically told us to walk around the hotel until we found a spot that would work for us.