Ratings based on 816 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Nice rooms. Hot water lasted for 5 mins only. Poor service at the restaurant. Rude waitress.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 20, 2016
All in all, pretty good hotel. It was just in a not so nice area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gießen

Für eine nacht

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Ganz okay. Wir wollten ins motown museum und haben eine Nacht verbracht. Abendessen War sehr gut
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Joshua, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments and feedback from the restaurant! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Love The Location!

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Cons: Lighting In Rooms
Location: Its close to Detroits Museum Mile & The Motown Museum
I adore the character of this grand dame. Its reasonable and my favorite ploace to stay in Detroit!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Josh, Director of Operations., Hotel Management
Tanya, Thank you for the 5 out of 5 rating! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and got to sample some of what Detroit has to offer. Come see us again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would recommend

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Staff were very helpful
Cons: Shower was cold at times
Location: 3 miles from downtown but walkable. Not a lot around the hotel.
Very clean room with all mod cons. Nice bar area with very good food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A/C not working. No parking a nd no breakfast

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: Detroit was kind of depressing. Left right away
Area was kind of dangerous. Valet charged $20 per day, no breakfast included... The food was not great either at The Musique restaurant. Sleepimg in their bed was uncomfortable. Not a welcome atmosphere from the lady at the Front Desk when I checked in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: First time travelers to Michigan. Hotel was in convenient location to walk to Motown Museum and close enough to travel to relatives nearby.
Very nice staff. Friendly and courteous to my son and I. We were visiting to go to a Michigan football game and the hotel and airfare were bundled and affordable for us to go and enjoy a nice weekend with relatives as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Wasn't wow'd

Posted Oct 31, 2016
The hotel was clean and the staff was nice. Worth the price you pay. But they had not hot water. Kind of a deal breaker when you want to shower the next morning. Would likely stay somewhere else the next time I'm in Detroit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

I won't be returning.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: The location is great, right next to the fisher theater, and a short drive away from midtown, eastern market, and the stadiums.
The rooms were stifling. 80 plus degrees, and we had no control over the temperature. No water pressure in the showers, and water temperature was tepid at best. The walls are thin, we heard everything the neighbors were doing. The staff was apologetic and understanding, but explained that all of our complaints were just part of staying in a 'historic' hotel. And although this was out of the hotels control, a car crashed into the side of the building at 3 in the morning. We weren't evacuated nor were we told what happened. The entire experience was extremely unsettling.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Charming, older hotel in Detroit

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Cons: It could use some TLC. It's an older hotel, so it won't be perfect.
This was our second year staying at the Hotel St. Regis. The hotel isn't really comparable to a modern facility. It has beautiful old world charm and architecture. My biggest criteria when choosing a place to stay is cleanliness, bed bug reports and price. We were in town for beerfest, not to lounge at the pool or sit at their bar. The Hotel St. Regis was cheaper than any of the other big names in town by $50-100. I like that they have parking at a reasonable rate ($20/per night) and I can get my car out as many times as needed. The hotel is in need of some TLC and it looks like they're trying to keep it up. There were signs of recently repaired walls & ceilings. Our room had some blemishes in the wall paper and the tub could use a new round of caulk. The carpet in the hall needed attention...but none of this impacted our comfort there. We had an issue with hot water. They couldn't immediately remedy the issue, but the staff made sure we were satisfied with the outcome. It's not the Westin, but I also didn't pay Westin prices. The bed was comfortable. We got a good night's sleep and the staff were friendly. We will look at staying again next year. I'm not sure we'd eat in the restaurant again. We were the only two diners in the room and a business meeting in a private room. It took a very, very long time to get our food. It wasn't the greatest breakfast I've had. For what's available close by, we would probably eat somewhere else.