Ratings based on 777 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton. Ohio

Good Hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Restaurant and bar staff. Food was good, a little heavy on the spices, but good.
Cons: Clean the ventilation system. And expect to add $20-30 per day for parking and valet tipping.
Location: Not much, hotel sits on outskirts of Detroit.
The Hotel St. Regis is currently a mid class hotel, built during the 60"s as a flagship hotel for Detroit. She has now seen better days, but the staff do a nice job of meeting travelers requests. The best part of my stay was talking with the staff of the hotel restaurant and bar. Very friendly and pleasant. My least desirable experience was observing that the hotel ventilation system had not been cleaned in years (see photo of bathroom vent.) If you have allergies, not a good thing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ogdensburg, NY

Close to Comerica Park

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Everything else! Lovely hotel and the employees were great!
Cons: Perhaps have an option for a quiet floor or party floor!
The only problem with this hotel was our neighbors who were on the other side of an adjoining door to the next room. There was a huge party going on, with many drunk people, and the noise from slamming doors & revelers was unbearable. After knocking on their door & asking them to tone it down, we called the front desk twice & were moved to another floor. That room was fine, but unfortunately, it was already 1:00 a.m & we had to be on the road for 8:00 a.m. for an 11 hour drive the next day. Not a great experience for our grandsons.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst customer service

Posted Jul 25, 2016
I had a terrible experience at this hotel. The room was clean and I can't complain about the bed/linens. My major complaint was with the service. My husband and 4 month old came with me for a business trip. First, we arrived late at night and it took forever for someone to come outside to do our mandatory valet. Next, the gentleman helping me with my bags left me in the lobby with a screaming baby and a carrier full of bags. I was so desperate to get my son to the room to feed him I tried to push the carrier myself. It was broken so I ended up leaving it in the hallway with all my things on it just to get my son to the room. No one at there service desk or restaurant attempted to help me. I tried calling the front desk when we got to the room bevause it said online there would be a fridge available, nothing. The person at the front desk tells us thw fridges are locked in a room and the key is lost and only one person has access. I said i specifically asked about a fridge because I have breast milk to store. No help. Then, in the morning, we called down 20 minutes before I needed to leave for my interview to request our car from valet. We walk down, no car. No valet. We ask the front desk. It then takes another 10 minutes to get our car making me late for my interview. This happened every time we attempted to leave the hotel. I just can't say enough how poor the customer service was. I've never taken the time to write a review before, but I felt I must warn others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northville, MI

Multiple complaints went unaddressed and or ignore

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Mattresses, ice machines, cleaning, mentioned above.
Upon arrival we were downgraded to a smaller room since they were over booked. Got to the room, old take-out containers were left in the room. A call to have this addressed was ignored, though they told us someone would come and address it or we could get another room. Nothing happened. Neighbors were loud, verbally abusive to us banging on the door, walls, and screaming for no apparent reason. We asked the front desk to address, and again seemingly ignored. No fridge, air conditioning control, bad mattress and the whole while due to the circumstances, were questioned the cleanliness of the room. Who doesn't have an ice machine on each floor? Will not recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2016
One night stay for business. Was just fine for one night
5 out of 5
by Shehryar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Burr!!

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
No hot water in my room. The coffee maker did not work but that didn't matter because the shower was so cold. Burr!!
3 out of 5
by Barbara A. from Chicago

Nothing like a cold shower, not!

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived late on Friday and not until we were in our room did we encounter no hot water. Turns out we were not alone. Early the next morning I met another couple who experienced the cold shower. It wasn't early Saturday evening when it was fixed, but they did comp us our parking for two nights,
4 out of 5
by Andrew

AW stay

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
warm and friendly help. Ardis was spectacular.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels