Ratings based on 851 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

Great experience

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Loved the historic hotel decor with the modern touch. Great hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Josh, Hotel Management
Thanks for the 5 out of 5 rating! Hope to see you again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Feb 11, 2017
This is NOT a St. Regis hotel. Do not be deceived. Decent lobby but heating broken in room, had to sleep with window open in middle of winter. Room smelled. Elevator did not work. Front desk person barely apologetic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Josh, Hotel Management
We strive for all our guests to have a memorable experience and will take this opportunity to learn and grow from your experience to better ourselves.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

I had a horrible experience

Posted Jan 25, 2017
The room was cold and the bath tub was out dated. My parking was suppose to have been waived for the inconvenience but wasn't until I called and complained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Josh, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. Please reach out to me if there are any more concerns that I can address. We strive for all our guests to have a memorable experience and will take this opportunity to learn and grow from your experience to better ourselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel, Hot water ??????

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Good value, great location
Cons: Water temperature
Location: near downtown
Nice room Good staff Bad Shower Water barely warm enough to take a shower?
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Josh, Hotel Management
Hi Ingo, Thank you for the feedback. Sorry you had water issues. We strive for all our guests to have a memorable experience and will take this opportunity to learn and grow from your experience to better ourselves.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and run-down hotel in need of upgrades

Posted Dec 27, 2016
This hotel has seen its prime come and go. The rooms are drafty with large gaps around the door to the hallway. The walls are paper thin. The front desk staff was friendly, but they still charged the full valet parking price even though the valet was MIA when I needed my car at check out. The front desk staff called him but could not reach him. They retrieved my keys and gave me directions to the parking lot. It was 15 degrees that morning, and I would have really appreciated the valet going to get my car instead of hauling my luggage to the open parking lot and scraping the ice off myself. I will be paying a little more to stay in a nicer place next time in Detroit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Josh, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry you had issues with valet. We strive for all our guests to have a memorable experience and will take this opportunity to learn and grow from your experience to better ourselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Nice Front desk could have been nicer at check in

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Noise control
Location: We went to the Lions game
Valet parking very nice and helpful. The lady that check us in was Not very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Josh, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Sharon On, Thank you for the review! Glad you were able to stay and enjoy a Lions game.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Very friendly staff, only thing was no parking, valet only.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Josh, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Thank you for rating!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Nice rooms. Hot water lasted for 5 mins only. Poor service at the restaurant. Rude waitress.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand rapids mi

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on CheapTickets
Nice hotel, friendly staff and very convenient location. We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Josh, Director of Operations, Hotel Management
Hannah S, Thank you for the wonderful rating!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed Bugs --- Stay away, stay far away!!!

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Bed Bugs! Broken thermostat, no cold water, Hold in Bathroom door, Huge gap under main door and very rude people at front desk
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for reaching out to us about your recent stay. I want to apologize for the unforeseen issues that occurred and would like to inform you the thermostat, water and maintenance problems were investigated. Management and staff were never notified of any issue during your stay. We wish you would have notified us while still in the building and we could have addressed the issues. I will share a bit of facts for the benefit of other readers as well. We have the entire facility swept by a pest control company quarterly and if any complaints or concerns arise from guests or staff they are contacted for same day service. Since this was enacted years ago, we have had no bedbug complaints and can assure that we are a bedbug free facility. Sincerely, Joshua M., Director of Operations