Ratings based on 303 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathroom and smell horrible.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: staff was nice. It was quiet. Bed was comfy.
Cons: room conditions.
As soon as you entered, there was urine smell. Stains on bathroom wall looked like urine drops. Sink was stopped. Rug was very dirty, and was afraid to walk barefoot. I will never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by M, Hotel Management
I was sorry to see you had a bad experience with your stay. I have shared your comments concerning the room cleanliness and maintenance issues with the staff. We have taken steps to correct these problems. Thank you for the feedback and allowing us to respond to your concerns. Maureen S. General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal Quebec

Very access to the main highway

Posted Aug 2, 2016
My experience was great the staff are so friendly and polite. The breakfast is great plenty of fresh food and very clean.... The only issues is the carpets in the hallway and rooms.... They should be cleaned more often....overall if i need to go back to southgate Michigan again i will definitely choose that holel again Thank you Gaetano Di Tullio
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to family allowed our dog

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Only slept there came at night. Worked just fine. Didn't get a chance to use ammenities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed was worn out.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
It is an ok place to stay. A good 2 star place. Nothing special.
3 out of 5
by Mark from Dandridge TN.

Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
The room was adequate. The service was poor, they did not clean our room one day of our stay. The outside of the hotel was is very poor condition and dirty. There were questionable persons hanging around the outside of the hotel and security was poor.
2 out of 5
by Derrick from Virginia.... by way of Detroit

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Didn't like the fact that my wife had to leave her Father's family hour to check in because I was using her credit card, but reservation was in my name. Hotel was outdated, I stayed at LaQuinta in Georgia 2 weeks ago and it was awesome. This place had an odor, long gloomy hallways, and had the old school chains on the doors to keep the doors from opening all the way. I'm going back to Michigan on Friday, and I would not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016
Derrick, I'm sorry to hear about your unsatisfactory stay with us. It is standard practice to confirm correct ID to insure credit card security. We are expecting a hotel renovation that will correct the issues with the odor and gloominess of hallways. We are also in the process of changing out the door chains with the more updated bars.Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to complete this review. I hope you give us a second chance and stay with us again.
4 out of 5
by Jyutsana from Valdosta, Georgia

Nice stay!

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
It was a good stay. No problems. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
by ANGELA from Born In Detroit. Live in Virginia...Came to visit

nice. very nice

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
We drove from virginia, stayed 3 nights..really enjoy the stay at this hotel...quiet. clean. I high recommend this hotel...only one little suggestion? an outside table and chairs..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Fine

Posted May 31, 2016
Stayed here for just a day. Cons: Washroom was too small and wasn't clean so we had to change the room. Building is quite old and it seems not that well maintained, you will realise it as soon as you step in the lift. Pro: Staff was really nice and friendly. Breakfast was also good.
3 out of 5
by twila

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels