Ratings based on 623 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Great staff, offered a car service to the guests travelling in the area which was a great perk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good stay

Posted May 10, 2017
Our air conditioner was really noisy our first night. Called front desk next morning and someone was in our room looking at it within 30 minutes. It was broken and we were moved to a new room immediately and it was perfect! Very satisfied and hope to be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always nice at MGM

Posted May 2, 2017
Best casino to stay at downtown. More expensive but worth the money. Rooms are always nice and casino is less smoky compared to the others downtown. Free valet is a plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great food, casino's pay off well.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Local places to visit and easy to get too. Very happy stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a nice place to stay

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: the room set up is nice and the bathroom are huge
The rooms are confortable enough but they have a vent conduct that literally you can hear all the sunds from other room around you , I couldn't sleep at all that night,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
I expect the room to be more cleaner especially the carpet and bed skirt. My wife and I were comfortable on the luxury king bed, we slept good in all of our 3 nights stay. Bathroom is big and clean with a nice shower but I don't see myself using the phone next to the commode. On our 2nd day I find it strange when suddenly one of the housekeeping staff open the door while were taking our afternoon, she suddenly walked in and to her surprised that we were in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Great Hotel, great location. Room was excellent, staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, dc

Work trip

Posted Apr 4, 2017
It was my second time staying here and I'd forgotten that in room dining ends at 10pm. That leaves one option for travellers who arrive late: going to eatery on the casino floor. The eatery is primarily fried food and greasy Asian food, which you really don't want to eat at 11pm. Aside from the early end time for room service this is a great hotel, great staff and security. And best bathrooms ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

MGM for business trip

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Staff, free valet, conveniently located, comfortable rooms
Cons: coffee in the rooms, get rid of smoke smell everywhere, the pub food/hours, reduce temperature in the lounge area off the lobby
Location: great location downtown, go to the Whitney House for dinner - awesome history and tours are available.
Nice hotel, was there for business only. Front desk and service staff really wonderful. Hate the smoking smell that pervades everywhere because it's a casino. Ate at the pub and the food was really bad. Tried to have drinks with associates at the Pub and they closed at midnite - what bar in a casino closes so early? There is a lounge off the lobby where the rooms are, and although it is pleasing it was hot as you-know-what, so we just called it the roasting pit! Biggest disappointment, there is no coffee maker in the rooms, which are otherwise well-appointed. Why? Do they think you will go downstairs to gamble in the morning? That was really bad as we had late nights and early mornings and I would have really liked to have some java without having to go down to the "fire-pit" to fetch it. Loved that valet parking was free. Didn't gamble so can't comment on the casino, it's not my thing. What stood out the most to me was the service/staff, all really wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Detroit hotel/casino

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Excellent staff. Everyone was pleasant, friendly and knowledgeable about the area.
Cons: Can't really think of anything
Location: A walk or short cab ride to downtown Detroit. Airport transportation available too.
I came to Detroit for a Red Wings game at the soon to close Joe Louis Arena. The MGM was an excellent location. The hotel is beautiful with plenty of gaming options in the casino and a 15 minute walk to the arena. Taxis are also available if you don't want to walk it to downtown.