Ratings based on 3,678 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Close to downtown Detroit

Posted Apr 26, 2017
This hotel was amazing! The staff were very welcoming throughout my stay and said hello and asked if we liked our stay so far. The casino is huge! Very nice in the casino, my only complaint is the ventilation is not that great and the smoke smell is pretty bad, if you are a non smoker like myself. They have a limited area of non smoking for slot machines so you would have to go to the smoking area. Other than that, a lot of great restaurants to eat at in the hotel with reasonable prices, a diner that is open 24 hours as well as a burger joint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by MCCH Management, Hotel Management
When you’re very happy, we’re very happy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
I decided to get a room here because we purchased tickets at sound board.. completely Enjoyed my experience here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
We’re looking forward to seeing you again if you happen to be in town! MCCH Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Love staying here. Only issue is the front desk always seems understaffed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Glad you chose to stay with us! Make sure to stop in on your next Detroit visit. MCCH Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

great hotel - beware of strong cigarette smell

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Beautiful hotel as described. Rooms large, spacious and clean with great amenities. Staff very friendly. Only down side, hotel smells extremely strong of cigarettes due to the casino. Everyone inside the casino can smoke, therefore the whole lobby and common area has prominent smell of smoke. Would stay again, good pricing, for what you get with prime downtown location. Valet parking is free, only charge is a tip if you want to leave one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
We enjoyed having you stay with us! We’ll be looking for you when you’re back in Detroit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel ...but no hot water

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable, TV was nice. Nice furniture. Felt "classy". Security would only let you upstairs with a key - cut down on the parties
Cons: Hot water in the room Faster service at The Lodge
Location: Red Wings All the sports teams are (or will be next season) within a quick Uber ride.
This was a nice hotel. Parking was free, plenty of food options around the clock. But I will say that service at "The Lodge" was slow both times we ate there. There was a big stain in the middle of the carpet in my room. But this was really the only "dirt" I saw in the whole place. And I know it's not reasonable to discount the cleanliness of an entire facility for one flaw. The water NEVER got hot in the shower or sink. Warm...but not hot. And it didn't matter what time of day it was. Our friends stayed down the hall and they had the same issue. Robes and sandals in the room for you to use. Free internet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by MCCH Management, Hotel Management
We’ve forwarded your feedback on the repair issues to our maintenance team. Hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisville ky

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Location. Food. Rooms. Casino. 👍🏻👍🏻
Cons: Front desk clerk was rude. Very snide and treated me like I shouldn't be there. Didn't wanna take my credit card to pay for the room.
Location: 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻
This hotel has everything we needed or wanted for our stay. One rude desk clerk was the only issues we had.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by MCCH Management, Hotel Management
Sorry we didn’t make the grade on your hotel stay! We’ve forwarded your comments to hotel management and hope you return for more fun soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisville ky

Great location and hotel except for one clerk

Posted Apr 5, 2017
We had 2 reservations for 2 days due to travel changes we made. The first day check in was flawless. I paid with my credit card with no questions or problems. We stayed and enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer which was incredible dining, room, bed, giant tub and especially the casino. That next morning we had to check out in order to get our other reservation for the next night. We checked out fine and when we checked back in at that same time, the female employee at the counter was refusing to let me pay for our room (with the same credit card I had just used the day before with no problems) because my ID had my maiden name and my credit card had my new married name. I offered my husbands ID and my ID and explained I just used the same credit card and I hadn't had the chance to update my I'd since we were married and the reply was "okay, they shouldn't have done that yesterday .. I won't do it, can you pay another way. I asked if there was someone else who I could talk to and possibly get the okay to use that card since I had just stayed at the hotel with the same card and she stomped off and went and got approval to use the same card I had just used. Once we had approval to pay she still was rude. We left for lunch and when we came back we luckily had another employee who helped us & even upgraded our room for us without knowing all the problems the previous employee caused. Overall I'd stay again without hesitation, but with hopes that employee learns respect 4 ppl.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by MCCH Management, Hotel Management
We take great pride in our customer service and friendliness, so we’re especially disappointed to read about your experience. Thanks for the feedback, and we hope you’ll come back to see it put to good use!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Staff was great! Valet parking included with room price very easy and quick.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by MCCH Management, Hotel Management
We can’t wait to have you return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In town for Wings game. Great experience.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Came back home from Iowa to catch a last game at JLA. Got in late and ended up getting upgraded to Exec level. Complimentary breakfast was decent. Only complaint is that we saw only saw one shuttle back after the game as it pulled away. We waited for 45 minutes and finally the shuttle driver from Tommys picked up the dozen of us waiting to go back to MC and gave us a lift. Best bus ride EVER! Glad MC dropped the ball. The driver was awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by MCCH Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor, Ont., Canada

reasonably priced for a one nights stay

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Executive rooms were nice.
Cons: Further disclosure about the shuttle service on website.
Location: Location pretty close to Joe Louis Arena. Cost for cab $15 each way
Attending concert at Joe Louis Arena, website indicates shuttle service available, unfortunately it is not for concerts. The shuttle is only for sporting events, website should disclose this. Over all stay and hotel was pleasing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by MCCH Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review!