Ratings based on 1,014 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a good choice

Posted Apr 8, 2017
when in the Detroit area i try to stay here, good price, clean ample rooms, a good location, downtown only minutes away, airport evenncloser
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Short travel

Posted Mar 21, 2017
For the price the space was great clean and comfy. Being near a highway the area was quieter than I expected. Thx you Kindly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Nice in a pinch

Posted Mar 10, 2017
I was here because of thr power outage in MI ... the room was clean, but was supposed to be a smoke free facility but apparently people ignored that and the smell of deodorizer and cigarettes stench was awful, also the room was slow to heat up. This place could use some new pillows and overall revamping but it was ok for our situation and the staff was very accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not up to date

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: staff is friendly
Cons: Hotel needs renovation
Location: Great location on Michigan Ave
I didn't expect much considering the rate they gave me, but I didn't have that cleanliness feeling when I spent some time in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Good location. The room was very comfortable and quiet. We felt welcome from the moment we walked into the office.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Terrible heaters, make a lot of noise, couldn't sleep well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Property in need of an upgrade

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: located conveniently between DTW airport and downtown Detroit.
Cons: The hotel is old. Only one power outlet at desk and NONE near the bed!
This hotel is rather old and ill-equipped. My shower/tub drained painfully slow and I was standing in ankle deep water... Not good. After the room was "serviced" my bed looked like it was quickly made very sloppily and, to my surprise the tub had not been cleaned! But to add insult to injury, the housekeeper left an envelope for a tip. Advertised that "breakfast" was served. No place to sit. No hot food. There needs to be some clarification of what "breakfast" is across the industry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2017
It's a very nice clean and comfortable great time
5 out of 5
by Jason

Great room for the price

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is excellent for the price its the same as a 100 a night room . Its not a luxury suite but its a clean modern room with temperature control heat and a comfortable bed. I used the public transportation while here Smart bus stop across the street. The staff is super friendly. Stayed here 4 times never had a problem.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience poor management

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
General manager was very rude and disrespectful. They have the right to cancel your booking or refuse your right to stay for NO reason at all. She did not respect or care that I was a travel nurse that had been working many many hours and had my room booked ahead of time that I had already been staying in a week plus, bc I was asleep and did not pay before 11am but she had every right to call or even charge my card. So much for courtesy, she abused her power bc she could!!! Never stayed at Red Roof and never will again! I had to ask for a thorough cleaning of room 4 days after, ask for clean towels each day, instead of being offered. Had the exact same housekeeper, who didnt speak English well or do her job!! Btw their breakfast (on the go) must consists of her diet a bottled water an apple and maybe a muffin in a sack!