Ratings based on 806 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok motel, sketchy crowd.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Not too much
Cons: New beds, a paint job, cleanup of the exterior, a cleaning person who makes the beds.
Location: Royal Oak is a fabulous place with abundant night life. The Zoo is near by. Detroit is only 15 minutes away.
The hotel itself appeared to be crumbling. Afraid to go out to my car at night due to the sketchy crowd smoking pot in the cars parked in the lot and on the sidewalks. Smelled it at 9am coming from a room as I loaded my car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Windsor Canada

Good location and close to major highway

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Clean and good value
Cons: All good
Location: Close to a highway and many golf courses with shopping as well
Good place and very clean close to a major highway
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
With the exception of the two young ladies that I dealt with in regards to an issue on my card, the stay was great. I have to give respect to Anthony though. He is always friendly and helpful each time we stay. And this made our third stay at this location, I will admit that he is one of the main reasons we keep coming back. Also, the rooms are clean and the beds are extremely comfortable!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Go Elsewhere!!!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Cons: Management, Customer Service, and Cleanliness
We arrived just after 3pm and there were 3 people waiting for rooms as they weren't ready. After finally getting our room (which had a foul smell) and unloading our belongings, a staff member came pounding at our door and tried to let herself in. Had we not had the latch switched on she would have come in, knowing there were people in the room. She shouted at us "THEY WEREN'T SUPPOSED TO GIVE YOU THIS ROOM." We put this behind us and attended a wedding. Upon returning, another guest had blocked off the driveway necessary for us to get to our room. We looked around for the owner and a man came out of the lobby staring at us angrily. We passed our room so he wouldn't see where we entered. When we came back around, he was waiting for us and started uttering threats at our car and motioning as if he had a weapon. We didn't want trouble so we called police and asked them to escort us to our room so we could remove our belongings and leave. When the police arrived, they notified us that this man has been spoken to before and the staff at Red Roof Inn had refused to remove him! We called management to request a refund because they knew of the safety issue and hadn't done anything about it. We couldn't use our room and had to drive home 4 hours in the middle of the night. Management refused to refund us and only offered a 15% discount. The manager was rude, told us that maybe we scared the man (WHO WAS A PROBLEM BEFORE TO OTHERS) and didn't apologize for the bad experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed Weren't Made

Posted Jul 3, 2017
We had to make our own beds, we had to wait for them to bring the blankets and the sheets were thrown across the bed wrinkled as ever as if someone had been laying there already. move along, good price, poor room service. Never got that iron i requested neither.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
I asked to front counter for fix toilet and microwave several times but they ignored all the times
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shayma

Very nice and comfortable hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Very nice experience, the hotel close to the food, gas station and the highway. Staff are very friendly.The hotel just needs indoor swimming pool to be perfect!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff not reliable

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Price
On two occasions they never called in the morning like promised so I missed my doctors appointment. They told me they were sorry big deal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Cleanest hotel in the area, and cheapest too

Posted May 29, 2017
Cheap room, but nicer than the expensive hotels nearby. Very clean, friendly host staff and very accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
It's an excellent hotel. Affordable rates, good services, excellent room, cleanliness , staff. Everything is great for the price paid.