Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Petoskey, Michigan

Not accommodating...

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Hotel lobby looked nice as did the breakfast area. That was as far as I got at this place.
Cons: Hospitality training would help, so that the staff can be more accommodating.
Location: The place looked safe enough (given the fact that it is south of Detroit).
A month ago, I booked a room with two queen beds at this hotel because of the good reviews. I needed a place to stay for one night after a late night event, so I wanted something that was affordable. I got there at 3:00 p.m. to check in, and the hotel clerk asked if I needed a rollaway bed. I said that I booked a room with two queens so I didn't need one. He said that no, I booked a room with one bed, and that they didn't have any more rooms available with two beds. I showed him my confirmation email that clearly stated two queens. He said that they had a king with a couch, but that room was double the price that I paid for. When I told him that I didn't want to pay extra because this was not my mistake, he said that he had another Red Roof Inn in Lincoln Park that had two queens, and that we could stay there. I told him that I wasn't comfortable going to a hotel that I didn't know. He then contacted his manager and then told me that I had to call Expedia myself to resolve the situation. Expedia was very helpful, but in the end, I stayed at the Lincoln Park Red Roof (which was WAY worse than this one). Very disappointed that they couldn't resolve what seemed to be their mistake.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melvindale/Detriot

Front Desk Indian guy loves his phone.

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Everything was fine except for it took an extraordinarily long time to get checked in due to our host on his personal phone talking away to someone certainly not business related. Our room had no heat and was quite chilly. We were told that they would send maintenance to "check it out." Whenever that occurred, it wasn't during our stay. Continental breakfast was a couple crude muffins and not much else to choose from. Overall I guess it was worth 60 bucks to not stay in a worse spot in Detroit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2016
This hotel was excellent. It was an easy drive downtown, and it was much nicer than I expected. Very clean, and there was even DirecTV in the rooms!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks

Nice place

Posted Jan 5, 2016
A very nice spacious place, especially for the money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's a hidden gem!

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Was nervous about the location but our room was excellent. Very comfortable and clean and very pretty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Allegan, MI

Clean, quiet

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Nice place to stay, it was very quiet and clean, no issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel well kept great deal for the price.

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Nice place very well kept. You can see they are updating. The staff was friendly and interested in making your stay as comfortable as possible . Close to the city. You could spend a lot more and get the same.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from christiansburg va

Comfort

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Very clean
Cons: Time management
Location: Tattoos
Great place only issue was check in was at 3 pm and the room wasn't ready for another half an hr
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by LauraJean

Front desk staff is awesome!

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Orbitz
The front desk staff were very hospitable and helpful. The room was spacious and clean, all the appliances worked, no complaints. The pool area was the only place that seemed to need attention. There were no towels available and the hot tub didn't work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kimberly

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
Was disappointed waffle machine was dirty. It was full of old crusty dough. needed a cleaning.