Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible smell couldn't bare to stay

Posted May 21, 2017
The smell was absolutely horrible and of cigarettes. There were stains on the comforter and half the lights didn't work. I tried another room and that smelled like marijuana. I was told I could not have a refund, even tho I had to find a new hotel to stay in and it was a huge inconvenience
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jackson mi

NO A/C IN 85 DEGREE WEATHER!

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: PRICE, LOCATION, FRIDGE
Cons: EVERYTHING! Starting with honesty with the employees to the guests! THREE different employees gave us a different lie about the air conditioning!
Location: Near the river walk and close proximity to the Detroit sporting facilities.
I would like to say that the woman who checked me in was very nice. But it all went downhill afterwards. We went to check in the room and you really do get what you pay for... Dust all over the furniture, the phone felt like it hadn't every been cleaned. I took 2 wipes to the filth off. Sheets had a few things on them. The comforter had a cigarette burn. But, they did have a microwave (I wouldn't touch it) and it did have a working fridge of which we did use. It was an 85 degree day in Mid-May and so I tried to turn on the air. But the words on the thermostat were rubbed off so we couldn't tell which nobs to turn. I called front desk to ask for help with the AC. She said she'd have the guy come down. 20min later, I called again, she said she'd have him come down. Found him in hall and asked if he were here to help with the air. He came in and fudged around with thermostat and said it would take a while to kick on cuz they hadn't switched over from heat yet! But lied and said that the tiny bit of air coming out of vent would finally kick in after a few hours. We left and came back to the room 8 hrs later and still no air. Room was an oven! Called front desk and she said 'we don't have the air hooked up yet.' I told her about the guy who came and 'turned ours on'. I asked for a fan. She said she would look and get one to us. Never heard from staff again. Felt like we were suffocating all night. Had to use frozen water bottles on feet to cool! Never again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty. Rude. Run-down.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Receptionist was rude. Her co-workers were talking loudly about getting drunk and sleeping with other men. They were more interested in their phones than customers. Our bathroom door was so haggard that you couldn't open it from inside the bathroom! My wife was almost stuck in there. It was noisy, run-down and smelled terrible!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

How'd that get there?

Posted Apr 28, 2017
The bed was smaller than I thought it would be. There was a sticky spot on the floor that I could not tell what it was. I couldn't figure out how to change the temperature in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Do Not Stay

Posted Apr 2, 2017
The motel is very run down and the room was small and dirty. Multiple people tried to get into my room while I was there. The desk had no chair and the employees were rude.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2.4 is way too high for this hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Close to COBO
Cons: Fix the issues above. Ceiling, Sink, heat, coffee pot, add a iron.
The pictures look pretty nice and usually a 2.5 rating is OK and I needed to be close to the COBO center, so I gave them a try. Check in was fine. The room was small, but had new carpet and clean linens. There was a faint smoke smell in this non-smoking room. There was a big patch of dry wall gone from the ceiling and a large crack in the sink. I could not control the heat in the room and since it was 14 outside, it was chilly in the room. The control only had heat/cool/off. The next morning the coffee pot did not work and there is no iron in the room. I know you get what you pay for, but again this is not a 2.4, it's a 2.0 at best.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Like something from The Wire

Posted Mar 3, 2017
This place looks scary of hell from he outside, but I figured I'd give it a shot due to the price. When I got to my room, it was filled with empty take-out containers and reeked of pot. I turned around, got my money back, and went to a different hotel.
3 out of 5
by Lois Barnes

Not impressed

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was friendly but the shower curtain was moldy, the refrigerator was dirty room was smaller than expected, especially with two beds.
4 out of 5
by Valjean

Character but Comfortable

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Crank up the heat to 80 degrees F, and you'll be fine in the winter. The area looks worse than it actually is. I worried about my nice car all evening, but it was fine. You'll be fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

OK, considering the price

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: The proximity from the downtown and the price.
Cons: The insulation.... You can literally see through the walls
Location: Downtown Detroit is a very fun place to be. The riverfront walk is a must and is one block down from the hotel. There are some old breweries nearby.
The price was attractive. I was not expecting a lot for the price. The place met my expectations (which were pretty low). The location is great. About 600 yards from downtown. The restaurants; Clique if I remember right was very good. It appears to be a very popular restaurants for Sunday brunch.