Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
28% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

check in horrible

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: staff that knows how to honor bookings through 3rd parties
The lady checking in could not find Expedia reservation so she made us book another room, then she lied and said there were two reservations, then she told Expedia later, she "found" the other reservation, but by then we had purchased a second room for the same night through the hotel, She said Expedia booked two rooms not her and she could not do anything, when we called Expedia they only had a record of the room we booked with them, but she would not listen to reason. The room I stayed in had a colony of ants. Not just a few ants, but at least 50 or more. Room smelled of cigarettes. Terrible, terrible, terrible. Do yourself a favor and travel one mile east on Jefferson and stay at that hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

15 minute walk to downtown

Posted Jul 4, 2017
If you don't mind the smell of dope and loud people then give it a shot. Over priced for location and condition of hotel. If you are just looking for a bed to sleep on and a few bed bugs give them a call.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to riverwalk

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Walkable, close to waterfront and GM Ren Center. 1.1 miles from Tiger game. Easy check in, very helpful staff. On-site parking was perfect.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible smell couldn't bare to stay

Posted May 21, 2017
The smell was absolutely horrible and of cigarettes. There were stains on the comforter and half the lights didn't work. I tried another room and that smelled like marijuana. I was told I could not have a refund, even tho I had to find a new hotel to stay in and it was a huge inconvenience
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jackson mi

NO A/C IN 85 DEGREE WEATHER!

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: PRICE, LOCATION, FRIDGE
Cons: EVERYTHING! Starting with honesty with the employees to the guests! THREE different employees gave us a different lie about the air conditioning!
Location: Near the river walk and close proximity to the Detroit sporting facilities.
I would like to say that the woman who checked me in was very nice. But it all went downhill afterwards. We went to check in the room and you really do get what you pay for... Dust all over the furniture, the phone felt like it hadn't every been cleaned. I took 2 wipes to the filth off. Sheets had a few things on them. The comforter had a cigarette burn. But, they did have a microwave (I wouldn't touch it) and it did have a working fridge of which we did use. It was an 85 degree day in Mid-May and so I tried to turn on the air. But the words on the thermostat were rubbed off so we couldn't tell which nobs to turn. I called front desk to ask for help with the AC. She said she'd have the guy come down. 20min later, I called again, she said she'd have him come down. Found him in hall and asked if he were here to help with the air. He came in and fudged around with thermostat and said it would take a while to kick on cuz they hadn't switched over from heat yet! But lied and said that the tiny bit of air coming out of vent would finally kick in after a few hours. We left and came back to the room 8 hrs later and still no air. Room was an oven! Called front desk and she said 'we don't have the air hooked up yet.' I told her about the guy who came and 'turned ours on'. I asked for a fan. She said she would look and get one to us. Never heard from staff again. Felt like we were suffocating all night. Had to use frozen water bottles on feet to cool! Never again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty. Rude. Run-down.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Receptionist was rude. Her co-workers were talking loudly about getting drunk and sleeping with other men. They were more interested in their phones than customers. Our bathroom door was so haggard that you couldn't open it from inside the bathroom! My wife was almost stuck in there. It was noisy, run-down and smelled terrible!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

How'd that get there?

Posted Apr 28, 2017
The bed was smaller than I thought it would be. There was a sticky spot on the floor that I could not tell what it was. I couldn't figure out how to change the temperature in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Jaime

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location, Bad Rooms

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
I'm not a picky person, but there were a few major issues with the room. The outlets were not only badly placed, so that it was impossible to have anything plugged in next to the bed, but also the outlets wouldn't hold the plugs. The holes were to big, this was not just an issue with my personal electronics, but when I went to plug in my computer the plug the lamp came right out with just a light touch. The bedding was very thin, and uncomfortable. When I was headed to bed around 10:30 PM I could smell marijuana smoke emitting from somewhere. I could called the front desk, but the number was not written down near the phone, so it was to much of a hassle. I will say, this place is located in a great area. The riverfront is very beautiful, and a great walk, so if you're interested in that, it's an alright place to be. It's also located near many downtown and midtown attractions which I could uber to for around 6 bucks. The hotel was a good place to stash my stuff during my busy day, but honestly not much else.