Ratings based on 1,120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The hotel is a very cool 114 year old building that has been renovated yet maintains a lot of character and detail. Additionally it is on the riverfront and has a great views if you are facing the water. That being said, the overall experience is underwhelming. If the property could easily be considered a four star hotel - the staff, service and clientele is a two star at best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from akron, ohio

Great location for our weekend plans in Detroit

Posted Sep 7, 2016
The location was perfect, nice view. Riverwalk has a lot of possibilities. This hotel is clearly under ownership that just doesn't care about it. We had a big room on the first floor--but curtain pulls didn't work, carpet was tattered, housekeeping was terrible (didn't leave clean towels or replace empty tissue box). Lobby was ok but needed work. Doors need painted, screens need replaced. The Roberts could be a beautiful boutique hotel with just a tiny bit of money spent on some updates & upkeep but it seems no one cares enough. Sad!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Unbeatable riverwalk location

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
One night. Building is an official historic landmark so it's old but maintained. Carpet needed to be replaced. $15 bike (2 seater) rental was a great way to sightsee. Wifi was horrific. I have Sprint and I was roaming the entire time with zero bars. Staff said this may be due to the proximity to Canada but that mixed with the unreliable wifi was annoying. But overall we had a great stay and would definitely stay again. If at all possible, get a room with a riverview.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great potential

Posted Aug 31, 2016
strange vibe. Did not realise until the last day that one of my pillowcases had a really ugly and unsanitary stain.Huge and comfortable room. Wifi sucked. My phone thought that we were in Canada.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from h

Owners obviously don't care about customer service

Posted Aug 29, 2016
This is my 3rd and last try at this hotel. The first time HORRIBLE (FILTHY room, leaking toilet, broken television, paint samples on the wall, crusty windows) but due to how bad it was, we were moved and comped a free night. The second stay wasn't too bad. This last time, no Wi-Fi, terrible cable service and my husband was yelled at when e asked for a fork! Really? We did not even have the comforts of home. The owners know that since they are located on the water that they are guaranteed sellout weekends. But with more research, people will find out that there is a holiday inn that is the same price, located in the heart of the city. Never will get a dime from me again...
3 out of 5
by Jason from Camp Hill, PA

OK for an overnight

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were friendly and the hotel was vintage, which I like. The neighborhood is not the greatest but there's easy access to the highways and it's right on a nice walking path by the river. Unfortunately I was in a room right by the lobby and I was hearing people (some very loud) throughout the night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a very good location on the riverwalk but the hotel needs work
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Online Photos Lie

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Front desk Staff was rude and unprofessional. Hotel is outdated, dingy and looks haunted. Had to leave and get a different hotel. Don't recommend it at all
4 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels