Ratings based on 1,088 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Breakfast was not ready until 8:00 and was advertised to begin at 7. We could not wait until 8. WIFI was out
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from essex county nj

Big dissapointment

Posted Sep 17, 2016
No Wi-Fi No blanket on bed only 2 sheets No bath mat despite asking 2x Loud talking at 2:30am outside bedroom window Extremely limited menu - was only allowed to order bar food. Stopped up bathroom sink Television didn't work properly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The hotel is a very cool 114 year old building that has been renovated yet maintains a lot of character and detail. Additionally it is on the riverfront and has a great views if you are facing the water. That being said, the overall experience is underwhelming. If the property could easily be considered a four star hotel - the staff, service and clientele is a two star at best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from akron, ohio

Great location for our weekend plans in Detroit

Posted Sep 7, 2016
The location was perfect, nice view. Riverwalk has a lot of possibilities. This hotel is clearly under ownership that just doesn't care about it. We had a big room on the first floor--but curtain pulls didn't work, carpet was tattered, housekeeping was terrible (didn't leave clean towels or replace empty tissue box). Lobby was ok but needed work. Doors need painted, screens need replaced. The Roberts could be a beautiful boutique hotel with just a tiny bit of money spent on some updates & upkeep but it seems no one cares enough. Sad!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great potential

Posted Aug 31, 2016
strange vibe. Did not realise until the last day that one of my pillowcases had a really ugly and unsanitary stain.Huge and comfortable room. Wifi sucked. My phone thought that we were in Canada.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from h

Owners obviously don't care about customer service

Posted Aug 29, 2016
This is my 3rd and last try at this hotel. The first time HORRIBLE (FILTHY room, leaking toilet, broken television, paint samples on the wall, crusty windows) but due to how bad it was, we were moved and comped a free night. The second stay wasn't too bad. This last time, no Wi-Fi, terrible cable service and my husband was yelled at when e asked for a fork! Really? We did not even have the comforts of home. The owners know that since they are located on the water that they are guaranteed sellout weekends. But with more research, people will find out that there is a holiday inn that is the same price, located in the heart of the city. Never will get a dime from me again...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel at river front.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
It's a pity that poor service by housekeeping and negligence by the front desk personnel will drive the ratings of this gem of a hotel down to abysmally low nimbers. You need to pay attention to details.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Great location on the Riverwalk.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location, renovations
Cons: A few more amenities in the room, better TV set.
Location: Proximity to downtown venues, view, Riverwalk
Loved the renovations to the building, walked to restaurants, breweries, quiet setting close to everything. Good staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Missing ammenities

Posted Aug 3, 2016
The room was missing a phone, a hair dryer, a clock radio and they only give you conditioner. There were missing pictures from the wall and it so nice to be next event facility when they have event until 2am and you can hear everything from the room. And there is only 5 channels on the tv.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

location & food better than rooms

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: location & food
Cons: service & cleanliness
I enjoyed the location and the food, however the service was slow when you even got service, I ordered room service that I paid for and it never came, electrical outlets hanging off the walls and trash not picked up or given new towels on a daily basis