Ratings based on 1,192 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midland, Texas

Beautiful historic hotel in great location.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Location: Fabulous location, right on the river, close to downtown and Belle Isle.
This hotel is in a lovely historic building. The reception staff was efficient, friendly and helpful when we checked in, but there was no one at the desk when we wanted to check out early on a Sunday morning. Our room was large and well laid out with a beautiful view of the river. The room was a little tired looking and not as clean as it could have been. Our room was not serviced on Saturday, leaving us without replacement of coffee and tissue which had run out. The toilet seat in the bathroom was loose. From the hotel you have easy access to the riverwalk, which is very nice, but it does not connect all the way through to the city or to Belle Isle. Hopefully the city has a plan to complete that trail or to post signs that would direct a cyclist or pedestrian to the appropriate streets to use to re-join the path closer to the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vintage elegant ambience

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The Vintage elegant ambiance and the water front access and views.
Cons: Everything
The front desk employee "Keena" was wonderful and understanding and accommodating. However the Hotel itself and accommodations were something straight out of the shining. The hotel offers a beautiful elegant ambiance of 60 years ago. The plants in the foyer and on the stairwell at each floor were dead. Which gave way to great concern for the energy in the hotel. The foyer, stairs, halls and rooms had not been dusted in almost as long as the hotel is old. The rooms were dusty and musty with a stale stench of age and forgotten dust. On closer examination of the rooms, the beds were found to have dirty sheets complete with drool stained pillows and evidence of blood indicating a bed bug problem previously treated. Which the only treatment of is burning of the mattresses. The room was extremely hot 82 degrees and no obvious control to cool it.. Then to add even more offense to the stay there is a $10.00 charge per guest per towel. Clearly this hotel has unlimited potential. Fulfilling its fullest potential would require money being put into the hotel. Until adequate time , money and energy are put into this hotel I can not recommend it to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with no love

Posted Apr 6, 2017
This hotel needs improvement and I mean a lot! The room smelled like rotting food, the heater wasn't working, the phone wasn't working, the TV was blurry, and the coffee maker was missing. They ended up charging me extra for the resort fee and when I called to ask why they put me on hold.... three times... and never picked up. Don't waste your time and money. The only good thing about this hotel is the view.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Missing coffee maker; phone wasn't working; heater wasn't working; beds were uncomfortable; room smelled like rotting food & tv wasn't working.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Staff was nice. Rooms were clean. Hotel is outdated. We only stayed for one night, no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved being on the water

Posted Mar 28, 2017
We had no heat in our room the first night we were there so they tried to fix it, but couldn't. They immediately changed us rooms. All the staff was so friendly. Just a welcoming environment from the start.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view.. quiet. These are the good points...

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Near the river, it is quiet and there is a lovely brewery nearby.. the Atwater Brewery.
Cons: Please see above.... so much to be improved.
Location: Go to the Atwater Brewery.
Well, I really wanted to like the 'Robert's Riverwalk. If not for the friendly staff, and the fact that it is very quiet.. I would have given it one star. First off, when I sat on the bed I heard a 'crinkle' sound. What an unpleasant surprise... the mattresses are covered in plastic, ( .99 cent store plastic sheeting). Half of the pillows on the bed, ( there were 4) were also lined with cheap plastic crinkly wrap.. There is a notice on the heat/cold control that if you set it above 74 degrees, they have the right to shut off the heat.. or some crazy nonsense to that effect. I kept my control just under and the room was pretty darn chilly. That would not have been much of a problem, if there was a blanket; there wasn't. There was a very thin bedspread and a sheet, no blanket in the closet. I asked, the second morning if they could send a blanket to my room... it did not arrive... I slept with my ski jacket on top of me. Second day, they removed all the towels and did not replace them and they 'forgot' to clean the room. ( On another note - interesting approach to cleaning the rooms...as you walk down the halls in the morning you will see all the dirty towels and sheets lining the hallway.. waiting for someone to pick them up.) I arrived back from a trade show, late, tired and ready for bed only to find that once again my key did not work and that I, sadly, had no towels. At least once a day I had to get them to re-program my key as did someone else from my c
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location, safe

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Beds weren't made, towels and coffee not replenished, waste baskets not emptied. Thinnest blankets known to man on the beds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

No customer service, and definitely no towels

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: View across the river
Cons: Everything. Improved customer service, increased security, amenities (have towels for all guests), get rid of pot smell, put uniforms on all workers
Location: Located downtown. Quick cab/uber to bars and restaurants on Woodward. Close to Joe Louis stadium and Ford Field.
Worst customer service experience at a hotel. Location: Conveniently located in downtown (we were in town for a hockey) but in a very sketchy part of town. A taxi driver remarked "It's a transitioning neighborhood, but I wouldn't walk around here at night". Smell: At our 1am check-in, the entire lobby smelled "illegal" and we continued to smell it throughout the weekend. Customer Service: Only one receptionist is at the front desk no matter how many people are waiting in line. Receptionists were unhelpful, unsympathetic, and don't bring up that you booked the room through a third party site. When asking for an extra cot, the receptionist told me that it was a fire hazard to add a cot to the room. I asked why I was allowed to book for five guests if that was the case and she replied "You have to take that up with them, we can't control anything that those third party sites do". I overheard this same excuse on another occasion with a different guest. Zero accountability. Room: The blankets are thin like sheets and there are absolutely not enough towels. We had to leave in the morning for brunch and then come back before we got towels for our morning shower. Front Desk/Housekeeping/etc buttons on phone did not work. I had to call the front desk from my phone to request the missing towels. Staff: No one wears uniforms, not even the maids, so you don't know who should be on the grounds or in your room. Fight your urge to get a deal. It's cheap for a reason.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for the price, wonderful view

Posted Mar 14, 2017
We walked into our room as if the last customers had just left - wet towels all over the floor, dirty sheets, funky smell - it was essentially the worst experience I've ever had at a hotel. The manager rushed maids to turn the room down and offered us free drinks at the bar while we waited, which was redeeming. Unfortunately the sub-par service continued when we had difficulty getting fresh towels - they didn't even turn the bed down while we were there.