Ratings based on 371 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Awful hotel.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
My parents came to visit at night so I didn't check out the hotel prior to their visit. The pictures & descriptions online is nothing like a hotel. Dirty, overrrun, working girls cozy with the staff that would not put a smile if you paid them. I took my parents to Marriott. They would not compensate me for the nights I paid which is fine. I would not fight over it, just wanted to leave without getting shot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Our stay here was wonderful! Very comfortable, gorgeous view of the riverfront! I highly recommend it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I want a refund.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
No electricity as we walked into our roo , no available parking, the receptionist was rude and Expedia overbooked us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jackson MI

Historic setting

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: The age, architecture and history of the building.
Cons: Our bathroom had no heat in the room itself. The floor tile was very cold. The bathroom door knob fell off. A bathroom rug would have been nice.
Location: It overlooks the Detroit river and was a great location for our business appointment downtown. I felt the hotel and parking was safe and secure.
We arrived around 1:00 am after a "white knuckled" drive through a snow storm with temperatures in the low teens. We were exhausted and had to get up vey early for an appointment. We were very pleased wth the check-in process. Our room was nice and warm with the heat blasting. It felt as is they knew we'd be cold and wanted us to be comfortable!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Friendly staff

Posted Dec 16, 2016
The front office staff was very nice and helpful during our stay. The view of the river was nice, but the fact that there was no HOT water to shower in was unacceptable. We even tried letting the water run for 15 min. to see if it would get hotter, but it never did. Also the toilet seat was unclean and the floor wasnt mopped, it was an overall poor bathroom appearance for a first impression.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view of river

Posted Dec 14, 2016
It was ok the view was nice we had to change rooms to get it
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

No heat!!!!

Posted Nov 26, 2016
They had no heat in the hotel. They done nothing to fix it. Then the water was cold the next morning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel experience of life

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: Good location to downtown, but in a rather shady area.
Room not clean, 2nd day room was not cleaned at all, fire alarms went off with out notifying us that these were false alarms being worked on after we walked down 4 flights of stairs. Did put us in another room the second night, that room was larger, with a view of river but not heat on a night that temperature was in low 40's. Also that room had missing light bulbs in the lamps. Staff responded to complaints. There was no record of our reservation on check in . Without my copy of the confirmed reservation they would have charged us more. Dark self parking lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable rooms and friendly staff

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Our stay was great, the staff was very accomodating and the building has a unique historic feel. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. Our first room was very dimly lit and when we requested another lamp they kindly provided us another room with more lighting and a river view without any hassle or extra charges and the room was larger than the first. Definitely recommend to those seeking a taste of Detroit's unique history and architectural charm at a very reasonable cost
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Cons: No mini-fridge to store food or microwave to cook food
Everything about the hotel was pretty good, aside two important things. The room lacked both a microwave and a mini-fridge. I had brought food with me for my stay, but had no way of cooking it, or even storing it. As a result it all went bad by the end of the day when my cooler thawed and got warm