Ratings based on 1,226 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Worst Hotel Experience Ever!

Posted Jun 18, 2017
 I recently booked a room through expedia and received my confirmation email and text messaging letting me know that I was good to go and my room was booked. I chose this hotel because of the price, location and because there were not too many poor reviews, in fact there were more positive reviews than bad ones. My party and I arrived at the hotel just after the 3pm check in time and when I went to check in I was informed that the double bed I had booked was not available and after a minute or two they found another 'suitable' room for me. I received the card key for the room and we went upstairs with hopes to enjoy the room and enjoy our weekend. We took three steps into this room and noticed right away that it was not touched by house keeping. The bed not made, garbage everywhere, take out boxes, dirty towels, etc... Went back to the desk to get another room and to see what was going on. They took another minute or two to look in their computer and found us another room. They said it was an upgrade. We went to that room which had an amazing view of the river and from the first look of this room, it looked 'okay' then we started noticing trash on the floor in the corner of the bathroom, a dirty towel, a pizza box, confetti on the floor, fingerprints on the glass table, and a balloon in the corner of the ceiling. The only thing that was really done with this room was that the bed was made and the bathroom counter wiped down. We immediately dragged all of our belongings back d
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Bed bugs

Posted May 31, 2017
My friend and I got eaten alive by an infestation of bed bugs. Room was dirty. Shower was clogged. Not enough pillows or blankets on the bed. And coffee filter didn't ft coffee pot. Normally I try to let little things go but showering in a clogged shower is gross and getting bitten by bed bugs was the last straw. Staff wasn't overly friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Riverfront View Hotel in Detroit, MI

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Loved the the riverfront view. If you must stay at Robert's, I suggest you request a riverfront view room especially during the spring and summer.
Cons: Needs new bedding, mattresses, pillows and coverings. Comfort is important to travelers. Hire consultants to improve the reputation of the facility.
Location: Love the river front access of the hotel. Distance is 1 - 1.5 miles from center of Detroit. Too far to walk but Lyft/Uber accessible.
(1) Check in process for others was quite challenging due to issues the hotel was experiencing with staffing on the day of my arrival. My check in experience was fine though I had paid for 2 nights and the system only registered 1. (2) The beds, mattresses, coverings and pillows need to be updated and replaced. Resorts are expected to be comfortable. I did not sleep comfortably despite my exhaustion. Owners/management should check in for a few days themselves. (3) Wasn't able to try the restaurant because it was closed during the week and your only option was to head out for dinner or order from local restaurants that would deliver but then when I went to pick up my own food to eat on their patio, management expressed an issue with me doing so. They eventually agreed to allow myself and my guests to have our meal in the patio area facing the riverfront view but that experience was very disappointing when there were no other options available. Other than that, I did not have any other negative experiences at the hotel. I only booked there because my usual choices were sold out so between the choice of the over expensive Renaissance or the Robert's, I decided to try the Robert's Riverwalk Hotel to support a smaller African-American owed establishment. They need better staffing all around, including the front desk area. The general areas were clean with the exception of the patio area. Someone should regularly pick up garbage left in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Haverhill, MA

Nice hotel on the river.

Posted May 3, 2017
Great hotel on the river. And in a quiet area too. It was clean and very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midland, Texas

Beautiful historic hotel in great location.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Location: Fabulous location, right on the river, close to downtown and Belle Isle.
This hotel is in a lovely historic building. The reception staff was efficient, friendly and helpful when we checked in, but there was no one at the desk when we wanted to check out early on a Sunday morning. Our room was large and well laid out with a beautiful view of the river. The room was a little tired looking and not as clean as it could have been. Our room was not serviced on Saturday, leaving us without replacement of coffee and tissue which had run out. The toilet seat in the bathroom was loose. From the hotel you have easy access to the riverwalk, which is very nice, but it does not connect all the way through to the city or to Belle Isle. Hopefully the city has a plan to complete that trail or to post signs that would direct a cyclist or pedestrian to the appropriate streets to use to re-join the path closer to the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vintage elegant ambience

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The Vintage elegant ambiance and the water front access and views.
Cons: Everything
The front desk employee "Keena" was wonderful and understanding and accommodating. However the Hotel itself and accommodations were something straight out of the shining. The hotel offers a beautiful elegant ambiance of 60 years ago. The plants in the foyer and on the stairwell at each floor were dead. Which gave way to great concern for the energy in the hotel. The foyer, stairs, halls and rooms had not been dusted in almost as long as the hotel is old. The rooms were dusty and musty with a stale stench of age and forgotten dust. On closer examination of the rooms, the beds were found to have dirty sheets complete with drool stained pillows and evidence of blood indicating a bed bug problem previously treated. Which the only treatment of is burning of the mattresses. The room was extremely hot 82 degrees and no obvious control to cool it.. Then to add even more offense to the stay there is a $10.00 charge per guest per towel. Clearly this hotel has unlimited potential. Fulfilling its fullest potential would require money being put into the hotel. Until adequate time , money and energy are put into this hotel I can not recommend it to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with no love

Posted Apr 6, 2017
This hotel needs improvement and I mean a lot! The room smelled like rotting food, the heater wasn't working, the phone wasn't working, the TV was blurry, and the coffee maker was missing. They ended up charging me extra for the resort fee and when I called to ask why they put me on hold.... three times... and never picked up. Don't waste your time and money. The only good thing about this hotel is the view.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Missing coffee maker; phone wasn't working; heater wasn't working; beds were uncomfortable; room smelled like rotting food & tv wasn't working.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Staff was nice. Rooms were clean. Hotel is outdated. We only stayed for one night, no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved being on the water

Posted Mar 28, 2017
We had no heat in our room the first night we were there so they tried to fix it, but couldn't. They immediately changed us rooms. All the staff was so friendly. Just a welcoming environment from the start.