Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Cozy Retreat

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Having private parking and a shuttle offered was great. The breakfast was full of fresh fruit which was a great surprise.
Location: There are a ton of unique restaurants around since it is by a campus which is great. Lots of food to try and lots of different styles.
We loved the buildings and all of the little extras provided. We got a chocolate chip cookie and box of water upon reaching our room to just sit and relax in. The room was immaculate with lots of gorgeous features. The bed was super comfortable and the decor was spot on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by The Inn on Ferry Street, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Amanda! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our amenities including complimentary parking, shuttle and the fruit at breakfast. Our fruit is delivered daily from Detroit's Eastern Market!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel. Great staff great breakfast.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
I could not be more pleased with my stay at this inn. These people are the absolute best
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by The Inn on Ferry Street , Hotel Management
Paul, we are so glad you enjoyed The Inn and we appreciate the compliments!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Right by a major-league arts museum

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Besides location, style--and staff
Cons: Not much. In-room refrigerators are not usual in such B&B type "inns."
Location: Try finding such agreeable and affordable accommodation so close to the corresponding museum(s) in more glamorous "destination" cities!.
Fine staff, good breakfast, and old-fashioned style throughout. I was there to be close to the Detroit Institute of Arts and regret that I had only one full day there--right around the corner, 5-6 minutes' brief walk away. Downtown, however, is a couple of miles away. Poor public bus service, but a good shttle is operated by the inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by The Inn On Ferry Street, Hotel Management
Thanks Victor. We appreciate you sharing your experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed our location and other amenities!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect place to stay for a wedding!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Buildings.
Cons: Water pressure.
Location: River area, Greek Town, Casino.
We stayed at The Inn on Ferry Street while attending a wedding at the Detroit Institute of Arts . We (wedding guests) were lucky enough to have one of the buildings to ourselves so we could gather downstairs in the living room to visit. They provide a free breakfast with the works, delicious. It was withing walking distance of the DIA but the hotel provided a free shuttle to anywhere within 5 miles so we didn't need to walk to the wedding. The only downside was the water pressure (at least in our third floor room). Shower was challenging and toilet took two flushes. Would definitely recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by The Inn On Ferry Street, Hotel Management
hbk, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing The Inn On Ferry Street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Beautiful attention to details

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The attention to details, and the valet shuttle (my first trip to Detroit)
Cons: Sheets and towels a little on the rough side, but maybe they were going for 100% cotton?
Location: Hotel is on the National Register of Historic Places
Staff exceeded expectations, particularly the (one) lady who provided all the breakfast goodies -I don't know how she does this unassisted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by The Inn On Ferry Street, Hotel Management
Dede, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts about The Inn On Ferry Street. Happy to here our staff exceeded your expectations!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo MI

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Very gracious and comfortable. It was a wonderful place to come home to!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Their shuttle will take you within 5 mile radius of the Inn. Beautiful mansions which are well kept.
Cons: Breakfast eating location is a small space. Crowded/insufficient at times.
Location: So well situated. Within walking distance of Detroit Institute of Art, Detroit Historical Museum and Charles Wright of African American History.
Decided to visit museums in Detroit. Had stayed at The Inn on Ferry Street previously. Booked 3 nights. Visited 3 nearby museums and restaurants. Such a wonderful experience. Love the positive energy in Detroit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Brilliant place to stay

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Like stepping back in time staying in a classic piece if the past. Very spacious rooms , well appointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, perfect for a couple's romantic night

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Nice hotel, perfect for a lover's getaway. Down the street from Wayne State campus but was very quite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful Historic Inn

Posted Dec 26, 2015
My husband and I loved our stay at the Inn on Ferry Street. Location location location! Many things we were wanting to see were within walking distance of the hotel. It was very safe and clean. Our room was rather small which would be my only complaint. The breakfast was declicuous and above expectations. Also the free shuttle service around town was amazing. We would defiantly come back for a stay at the Inn on Ferry Street.