Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by RICK from Akron, Ohio

Disappointed with B&B in Rochester, Michigan

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
We were the only guests in the B&B this weekend. Although it was a lovely home built in 1849, we were a little disappointed. 1). That the bathroom we had to use was downstairs from our room. There was one upstairs, and again, as we were the only guests for the weekend, we thought perhaps we could use it, but apparently, it was the manager's daughters, bathroom. 2). We loved the idea of the pool.. it looked beautiful, except it needed cleaned. So did the lounge chairs at pool side. Not to mention the cute duck family that was swimming [and dropping their duck waste] in the pool water. 3). We thought we could watch a movie on HBO or Showtime, but apparently those channels were not available in our room, only the common area living room, where the manager's daughter, was watching TV and working on crafts? 4). We thought our room included breakfast..at least that's what the confirmation from you said, but we found out it was "continental" i.e, frozen waffles, etc. 5). The manager forgot to give us our room key; then when we got one it didn't work. 6) Because our room was upstairs next to the manager's daughter's room, we got to hear her TV all night long. The house was beautiful. It looked charming. But it missed it's mark. Disappointed. $159.00 was a lot for what we got; or didn't get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fostoria MI

Beautiful BB in Rochester

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Beautiful home nestled in quiet street in Rochester...great location for shopping and close to Palace. Beautiful room aND house...pleasant owners....enjoyed a stress free overnight stay in Tiffany room with balcony and jacuzzi tub. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near downtown rochester

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Nice room nice place. The only gripe I have is the owners were never there so it was comparable to staying in a vacant house and a little disappointed you only get a cooked breakfast at extra cost
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from monroe, michigan

Totally a glorious experience.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Gated, beautiful rooms, clean. Comfortable, quiet and relaxing.
My hostess met me at the door, gave me a tour of the house and rooms. Beautiful place, felt safe, host and hostess were very friendly and very welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great B&B

Posted Oct 7, 2014
My wife and I stayed for only 1 night but we will definitely be back.
3 out of 5
by Ibby from Ohio

Didn't stay in main location.

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
Did not get to stay in the main b & b pictured. Was given an offsite location which didn't have the amenities of the main location. The management was nice in resolving the issue and refunding part of what I had paid in consideration of the mix-up. This b & b is unusual in that it doesn't provide a full breakfast included in your rate. Breakfast is some continental items, serve yourself. Main location does have some lovely features, offsite location is good in that it is close to Main St, but is just a place to stay, ok, but not special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MI

Beautiful, cozy, perfect

Posted Aug 1, 2014
I stayed at this B&B for a "staycation." I'm a Rochester native but I needed to get away from my parent's house for a bit. This place could not have been better. The owner/operator was very sweet and accommodating. The fridge and kitchenette were fully stocked, and all the food was free (rather, included). They also provided about 20 dvds for our entertainment. The rooms are spacious, connected, and decorated beautifully. It felt like our own little apartment. If it was an apartment on the market, I would rent it, hands down. It's about a block from the heart of downtown Rochester, so after I unpacked I walked to town and grabbed a quick dinner. I was thoroughly impressed at the amazing accommodations. Especially for the price. I am recommending this to all my friends, anyone visiting the area, or who simply needs a mini vacation. This is the perfect hidden gem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sandusky, OH

Nice weekend

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Great value for the price. Quite location. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Clean and comfortable room.
Location: Walking trails along the river. Vibrant small town. Numerous choices of restaurants. Art galleries. Micro brewery.
Stayed at the Rochester Carriage House in the Rochester Suite. Large bedroom with kingsize bed. Skylights let in natural light over bed. Bathroom included a shower for two. Separate living/dining area included an overstocked pantry and fridge. Very quite location a block off Main Street. All downtown Rochester with numerous shops, restaurants and coffee shops within easy walking distance. A great value and a great weekend.
2 out of 5
by Lynda from Boston, MA

Renovated carriage house needs more bathrooms.

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: The carriage house was beautifully renovated.
Cons: The innkeeper needs to improve the bathroom situation and keep the innkeeper's quarters separate from his guests.
Location: This is a great location within walking distance to a vibrant downtown area with many good shops and restaurants. Bike/walking trail is also nearby.
This could have been a nice stay if the innkeeper had opened the second floor bathroom to all three bedrooms. We had to walk down a flight of stairs, past the innkeeper's kitchen and dinner parties with his extended family to get to the only bathroom. We also had to beg for toilet tissue on three occasions! There were also some plumbing problems during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura & Jeff from Florida

Getting Better Every Day!

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: The kitchen in this house has been completly updated, it is every cooks dream! I would get up each morning, go down staris and just awe at it!!
Cons: Perhaps a bit more of a female touch.
Location: The local town was real nice. Great resturants and shops. Detriot wasn't a very far drive. Cass and White Lake were a short drive as well,
Our stay at this B & B was quite nice. Don and Mark were extremely helpful in every way. The Rochester Carriage House seems to be a work in progress; It will only get better as time goes on I’m sure.The bed rooms are a mix of old/original and new/modern. We stayed in the “Tiffany” room on the original side. It has a huge walk in closet which is especially nice to keep all of you “stuff” out of sight and leaves the living / sleeping area free of clutter. We also liked the fact that this room did have a private bath, with a huge Jacuzzi I might add. This room had all the amenities: including a hair dryer. Even though the house was pretty much fully occupied with guests, we felt like we were the only ones there most of the time. We chose this accommodation because of family very close by. We would recommend this B & B and would stay here again in a heart beat!