Ratings based on 1,009 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Real Detroit in a classic setting

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Location and it was very beautiful
Cons: housekeeping
Location: Lafayette Coney Island
Stayed for four nights. The hotel was wonderful, mainly geared for business people, but beautiful and comfortable. Valets and front desk are ready to help you. Rooms are modern and clean. I am from Detroit originally, and it was great to stay downtown with everything so close. Detroit is definitely coming back. I hope that it being bought by Marriot doesn't change it much. Ok here are some cons: Housekeeping was super weird. They would make the bed and leave more towels but wouldn't take used towels or empty any trash in the room. Never left clean glasses and the room service tray stayed outside our room for 2 days until I called. I threw away a pair of sneakers, left them in the room when we left, and they called me to tell me. They seemed put out that I had left them and told me that they could probably donate them. They were meant to be trash, but they are weird about trash, as you can see. They do not offer any breakfast or coffee and the wifi was not free. But, overall, I recommend this hotel for a real Detroit experience. Valets were great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location for sightseeing

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Beautiful old building in the heart of downtown. Easy access to all the points of interest I wanted to see. Nice, spacious, comfortable rooms.
Cons: Housekeeping done earlier in the day perhaps. Free wifi
Location: Close to sports arenas, riverfront, and museum of Art. Wonderful variety of restaurants to choose from and situated in the financial district.
This hotel is very nice and close to all the sports venues. Easy to walk to any of them including the new Little Ceasar's arena when it gets finished. The staff is friendly and helpful, and really make you feel welcome. The room was lovely and quite large. The only issue one might have there is that they were very late everyday making up the room. Well after 4pm each day and one day it was 6pm before they even came by. For me this wasn't a huge problem and they provided anything I asked for when they came by, but some travelers might not like the late day servicing of the room. Perhaps just ask about it at check in. In all fairness, they may have just had staffing issues while I was there. There are charges for internet access, which in this day and age seem strange to me. Overall, this was really a very nice hotel and would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

No free wifi -- elevator system frustrating

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The staff were excellent
Cons: The elevators
The hotel advertises "free wifi," but it charges $15 per night for in room internet. Also, the hotel has a strange, slow, and confusing elevator system, which made leaving my floor a hassle. Many frustrated people. Otherwise a great hotel -- with great, efficient and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Excellent hotel, location and amazing restaurants.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Service, attention from all staffers, location and professionalism.
Location: Perfect location for downtown work.
Was there for business and this hotel and its staff made my stay pleasant, effective and convenience due to its location, amenities and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Very Nice and Clean Hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: The Roast
Cons: Rooms seemed a little cold even after we turned up heat, but it was a cold a windy weekend.
Location: Everything is pretty much right there within a short walk or taxi ride.
This hotel was a very good choice, close to COBO arena and walking distance to Greektown Casino and other bars and nightlife. The staff was very good and the service was great, especially at the very good restaurant in the hotel called The Roast. Meals were a little pricey, but very good and the service was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. It's my go to location for stops

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Staff was very accommodating. We felt the staff cared about us as guests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Great hotel, fantastic location and amenities. I will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Room and facilities is superb in a magnificent historic hotel, symbolic of Detroit`s resurgence.
Cons: Valet parking still not ideal, from daily fee [$30] to non automated system which requires hordes of "runners" given garage is a distance away
Location: Location is a slight knock as not in the best areas for entertainment for now, however this is set to improve with more redevelopment planned.
Excellent stay at my favourite home away from home of all hotels in Detroit of which I have stayed at most.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: proximity to our daughter's apartment
We have been staying here before and kept coming back. We have been very pleased with the prompt service from valet to in room service
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back every time you come to visit your daughter! Our service sets us apart from the many great hotel choices downtown. Our Valet and Room Service team are thrilled to contribute to your great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie,on

Perfect location

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Love everything about this hotel its location, service, and the staff. I will be returning in the future and is highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great feedback! We love everything about our hotel too and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for the great recommendation!