Ratings based on 1,050 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HTX

Posted May 31, 2017
Club room with club access was nice. It would be beneficial to have 24hr access for coffee and or bottled water. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Real Detroit in a classic setting

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Location and it was very beautiful
Cons: housekeeping
Location: Lafayette Coney Island
Stayed for four nights. The hotel was wonderful, mainly geared for business people, but beautiful and comfortable. Valets and front desk are ready to help you. Rooms are modern and clean. I am from Detroit originally, and it was great to stay downtown with everything so close. Detroit is definitely coming back. I hope that it being bought by Marriot doesn't change it much. Ok here are some cons: Housekeeping was super weird. They would make the bed and leave more towels but wouldn't take used towels or empty any trash in the room. Never left clean glasses and the room service tray stayed outside our room for 2 days until I called. I threw away a pair of sneakers, left them in the room when we left, and they called me to tell me. They seemed put out that I had left them and told me that they could probably donate them. They were meant to be trash, but they are weird about trash, as you can see. They do not offer any breakfast or coffee and the wifi was not free. But, overall, I recommend this hotel for a real Detroit experience. Valets were great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location for sightseeing

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Beautiful old building in the heart of downtown. Easy access to all the points of interest I wanted to see. Nice, spacious, comfortable rooms.
Cons: Housekeeping done earlier in the day perhaps. Free wifi
Location: Close to sports arenas, riverfront, and museum of Art. Wonderful variety of restaurants to choose from and situated in the financial district.
This hotel is very nice and close to all the sports venues. Easy to walk to any of them including the new Little Ceasar's arena when it gets finished. The staff is friendly and helpful, and really make you feel welcome. The room was lovely and quite large. The only issue one might have there is that they were very late everyday making up the room. Well after 4pm each day and one day it was 6pm before they even came by. For me this wasn't a huge problem and they provided anything I asked for when they came by, but some travelers might not like the late day servicing of the room. Perhaps just ask about it at check in. In all fairness, they may have just had staffing issues while I was there. There are charges for internet access, which in this day and age seem strange to me. Overall, this was really a very nice hotel and would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel, great city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Great location, nice size room

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Went to a Red wings game, location was great. Very nice place, bar was a little crowded at night. We did not go to any of the restaurants in the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Errol

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by vic

good robes where not in room daily

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very good
5 out of 5
by Jeremy

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay that puts you close to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

No free wifi -- elevator system frustrating

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: The staff were excellent
Cons: The elevators
The hotel advertises "free wifi," but it charges $15 per night for in room internet. Also, the hotel has a strange, slow, and confusing elevator system, which made leaving my floor a hassle. Many frustrated people. Otherwise a great hotel -- with great, efficient and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motown luxury

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
This is a lovely hotel - we enjoyed our stay. Check-in was a little chaotic and it wasn't very quiet (noisy guests in the hallway), but I think this is probably the best hotel in Detroit.