Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Good, will be great once renos are done

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Sparse but comfortable rooms with minimal decorations. Industrial, yet still cozy feel. A bit of a maze netting and leaving rooms and floors with so much renos going on - only 1 elevator, entrance at present time and you can't use the stairs to get up to certain floors but can use them to get down. Walking distance to Corktown bars, safe area. Very helpful staff. I'll stay again next time in Detroit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello Chris, Detroit is the perfect mash-up of home and ingenuity. We're happy that you think our unique decor matches this so well! We've love sourcing local arts to help us bring the authentic spirit of Corktown inside and can't wait to showoff once our renovations are complete. Your praise will put a smile on our staffs' faces, thank you! We can't wait to welcome you back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel with bad service

Posted Jan 16, 2017
I visited this hotel while it was still in construction so I had to knock down the condition of the hotel but overall had a great room that was clean and ready when we arrived. The only complaint I had about my room was it smelled vaguely like cigarette smoke but the smell quickly dissipated. The hotel staff, specifically at the front desk, were awful. They were not nice and honestly seemed bothered by the fact I was checking in. They made me felt uncomfortable. Really should consider better service. Also a hotel for the young and trendy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, We're very sorry that our service did not represent our standard of excellence! We'll be sharing your insights with our front desk team - we want every guest to know they are welcome and valued. It has been exciting to watch our dream taking shape throughout our renovation and can't wait to show off the finished product. Our hometown pride shine through in every detail. We hope to welcome you again to impress you with a truly genuine Detroit experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for Joe Louis area

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Our room was really cold and there was no way to turn the heat up. Other than that it was a good room. Walking distance to the Joe or MGM Casino.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, We've very sorry to hear that your stay was not the pinnacle to comfort we hope to provide our guests! Please know that our staff is always available to assist in anyway. There's no denying that our location is ideal for any Detroit vacation and we hope we'll have the chance to welcome you back to the heart of Detroit very soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor

It was ok.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
I'll start with the good things: the staff was friendly and welcoming, the lobby was nice and I like the fact there was a gated parking lot. We did have a few problems with our room such as the phone was not working, the refridgerator was cold and yes they were both plugged in. The light over the mirror in the bathroom area did not work and the over all lighting in the room was bad. For those reasons I will probably not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello Jessica, While we're delighted that you loved our staff, lobby, and gated parking, we're very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced in your room. Please know that these are not representative of a typical stay with us! We've shared your comments with our facilities teams and are addressing those right away. We hope we'll earn the chance to welcome you back and truly 'wow' you with our complete renovations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

New motel close to downtown

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: Mini fridge in room, clean rooms, comfy beds, desk
Cons: It would have been a lot nicer if there was a closet instead of a rack to hang clothing. The iron and mini ironing board were hard to use.
Location: Location is close to downtown. It's in Corktown so there are restaurants and bars nearby.
Staff are friendly and accommodating. Facilities are new, but still under construction so during the day it was quite loud, but at night it was quiet. The rooms are small, but have everything you need - hairdryer, iron, mini fridge. It would have been nice to have an actual closet instead of a rack, but it served its purpose. There were not many outlets - which made ironing a challenge on the mini ironing board they provided. Hallway carpets were often dirty from construction workers tracking dirt through hallways, but I often saw someone vacuuming. Ice machines are only located on ground floor - sort of silly in my opinion because I had to go from 4th floor to 1st, so hopefully they will add machines to each floor. Overall, nice location in Corktown near downtown.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Economy Hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Cons: Add carpet and blow dryers!
Location: The location was nice because it was just outside of downtown. A $5 Uber ride was able to get us where we needed to be downtown.
The hotel is currently undergoing renovations. Looks nice, but very low budget and small rooms. White walls and cement floors throughout the room. It had a very cold and uncomfortable feeling to the hotel. Every noise in the hotel kept me awake throughout the night because there is no carpet to absorb the sounds. I had to call the front desk at 1:30 and 3:30 AM because the room next to me kept slamming their door and their TV was very loud. Oh and don't leave your blow dryer at home because the hotel does not supply one!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Bed was a bit stiff but the faculty and hotel was more than accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Nice hotel well located in corktown. Close to all the best spots in corktown and accessible to downtown by car or if you dont mind walking. Really it was perfect for us. The hotel was still under construction during our stay but it didnt impede us at all. Rooms were a little chilly but very clean, nicely decorated and had all the basics plus. Staff was friendly. Great stay and should be an even better one when it is complete!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste your money

Posted Nov 20, 2016
This hotel is extremely disappointing. I read many great reviews and decided to book a room for an overnight trip. The floors are concrete not carpeted. Our room was small and dirty. The bed and pillows were covered with dust and hair. I don't think anyone should spend the money to stay here when a Red Roof Inn (or any other chain) would be cleaner and cheaper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mt pleasant mi

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2016
This hotel was nice, in a pretty good location, and our room was excellent. It was very clean and all of the staff was extremely helpful and polite. The only reason I didn't give a 5 is because the rooms do not have coffee makers and coffee is not available until 7am and you have to pay for it. For early birds this is not early enough. We were there for a political rally and concert. We originally were going to take uber but once we realized that it was pretty safe to walk around this area we walked the 20 mins to cobo hall then another 20 to the Fillmore. The hotel is still under construction but they did a very good job of having it blocked off so you didn't even know it was going on. I would recommend staying here and also eating down the road at mudgies cafe. They have wonderful sandwiches and craft beer.