Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Florida

Good location for my travel to the Detroit area.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location and reputation.
Cons: More towels.
Location: Close to Henry Ford Village Retirement and Greenfield Village.
Recommend booking room directly to the hotel as opposed through Expedia...higher price and no discount through AAA and\or AARP.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by M, Hotel Management
Dear Dino, Thank you for your feedback. We try to make every stay pleasant and comfortable. Maureen S. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from palmbay fl

Dingy hotel near gas station

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Marijuana smell in lobby. Smokers hang by all entrance ways. Run down. Don't take a date here. In the fence if I paper the toilet seat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by M, Hotel Management
Dear steve, I am sorry to see that you did not have a positive experience with your stay. We will use your comments to help improve our operations. Thank you for letting us know about your experience. Maureen S. General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sputhgate, mi

Toilet

Posted May 25, 2017
We usually have no problems when we stay here. This time our toilet was not working. The next morning maintenance came in, and after 30 mins or so he said we would not be able to use the toilet. I went to the front desk to ask for another room and she told us to wait a little longer and see if the situation wpuld change. She wanted my baby and us to sit in the stinking room with a strange guy and np bathroom was unacceptable. They have no problem taking out money but had a problem with giving is back our privacy we paid for...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The issues you described are truly regrettable. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you. We will make sure your comments are shared with our Management Team, so we can use them for further training purposes. We do hope you choose us for your future travels. Respectfully, LQ Customer Care
5 out of 5
by Carla

Nice, clean, and pet friendly

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
My stay was nice. Room was ok size. Accommodations for my dog as well. Location was convenient for access to the area and staff was very nice. Room was clean. Heat/at unit was older and needed a little tlc but worked.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Carla, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I am happy you found the staff nice and the room clean. I will follow up with maintenance concerning your comment about the heat/ac unit. Your feedback is always appreciated and I will share your comments with the staff. Maureen S. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sparks, NV

Just okay

Posted May 9, 2017
Was there for a family graduation and got the hotel as an Expedia package for 5-days. So, with that said, it was what I paid for. Small room, very limited breakfast choices. Bathroom really needs to be sprayed with mildew cleaner and carpet was in need of overall scrubbing. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Don't know if I'd stay there again for that length of time, but for a day or two, the price is right.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by m, Hotel Management
Dear Steveh, I am sorry you had some issues with your stay. I have shared your review with the staff. We will use your comments to help improve our operations. We appreciate the feedback. Maureen S. General Manager
5 out of 5
by Timothy

A goodnight's sleep in Southgate

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel gave me a clean, comfortable room on a budget. The bed was cozy. The bathroom was kept spotless. It was 18 minutes from the airport. The only downside was the fact that Interstate 75 southbound was closed, when I stayed. The hotel is right by this highway, which goes into Detroit. It took me a half hour extra to get back from Downtown. The hotel itself is a great stay for the budget.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
Dear Timothy, Thank-you for letting us know about your stay. We are glad you found the room clean and the bed comfortable. Unfortunately, they are working to improve the condition of I-75. We are sorry that this caused a problem for you getting back to the hotel. Hopefully it will be completed before your next stay. Maureen S. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Ok.....Front desk personnel was frequently AWOL. Bed was comfortable even though it looked worn out . Elevator was scarey and very slow and missing some light bulbs in instrument panel. Room appeared clean but not fancy.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by n , Hotel Management
Dear Steverino, We were sorry to see that you had some issues with your stay. We have reviewed your comments and will use them to improve our operations. We were glad you found the room clean and the bed comfortable. Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Maureen S. General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by michael

Mike

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice experience
4 out of 5
by mario

alone time and fast food

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
overall everything was decent. went to stay and enjoy alone time n eat some fast food and that was a great area for that plus the gas station across the street compliments it well becuz it has just about everything in there...just do wish they had maybe a pool or fitness room.