Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh UK

A hotel near the show I was visiting

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Looked good on the website!
Cons: Everything I mention above
Location: It is within 12-15 mins walk of the main show venue if thats what you are going for.
Arrived to be told I was staying round the corner 150M away. Had a taxi waiting for me outside on a one way street so this initially cost me an extra £14 to arrange all that. Found room round the corner easily but from entering the ground floor room by the front door and main street found it disappointing along with a few hairs from the previous visitor on my duvet. I had paid over the odds to get a room near the show venue but frankly I should have booked a £75 room and taken a taxi every day rather than getting what looked like a £75 room for £180. Room was noisy from 5am till usually about 1am with the outside door continually banging and people going past the door talking. Worst hotel I have stayed in for the last 4 years. Nothing wrong with the staff.
1 out of 5
by noki from the netherlands

do not book this. even if there is nothing else.

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
sleeping under a bridge would have been a better experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good value, excellent staff, reasonable comfort

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Lastminute
Good value, excellent staff, reasonable comfort. There is no lift so don't book here if that's a problem for you, but we would be happy to go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thailand

the "guesthouse"

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
I was exceptionally disappointed. The hotel put me in the guesthouse, 2 blocks away from the hotel. My room, nay, CLOSET, was tiny and FREEZING. My room was next to the entrance so as people came and left, I heard everything. The entrance door always slammed shut and there were people coming in and out all night. I could hear their every footsteps ALL NIGHT LONG. I would have called the front desk and asked for another room, but there was no hotel phone- which I think is technically, illegal. I'm not from Germany so I had no phone, what if I had an emergency? The sheets had holes in them and to top it off, the WiFi didn't work, and I legitimately had work to do. The front desk man literally didn't care when I checked out. I can't recommend this hotel, perhaps I just had a bad room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Bait and switch + non-working Wi-FI

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Cons: For one thing, put us into the room I booked, rather than one a 5 minute walk away, in a different building.
I booked a room for Photokina at Hotel Alt Deutz City-Messe-Arena. When I came to check in, however, I was told I had been moved to Deutzer Eck, a guest-house at the other end of the block. The rooms were nothing like the photos, and it had a shared bathroom. The Wi-Fi worked extremely intermittently, and when it did work, it was slow as molasses. I also had the privilege of paying upwards of €150 per night at a guest house that says "Only €22 per room" on the outside. Absolutely disgraceful. I won't be staying here again, and am still wondering what I can do about basically have been bait-and-switched.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Egypt

Excellent hotel. Highly dicorated, outstanding

Posted Sep 8, 2016
One of the best Hotels ever seen. Outstanding environment and dicorations. Excellent food quality. Perfect for vacation of four to five days with access to the bus station to the city center. I highly recommend this hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Not what we expected at all.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
When we arrived at the hotel we first thought it was nice. However, upon check in, we were told to go to the guest house about 400m metres away. This was a bit annoying as you don't book a specific location to be told to stay somewhere else. When we arrived at the guest house it was still being cleaned as we were early (this was understandable). We dropped our bags and returned later on. The room was very small, had no fan, TV remote to change channels on the TV, the area was noisy and the bathroom had a faint smell of smoke - this was unexpected in a non smoking room! One other annoying thing was that the room cleaner knocked on the door at around 8:30am every morning, we gathered that he needed to clean the rooms but 8:30am was a bit early!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were very helpful and the location convenient, but the room itself was substandard.
5 out of 5
by Chia Ping from Malaysia

Nice stay

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Is nice
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels