Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Booked a 2 night stay, requesting room 4 with lovely antique four poster. Told at breakfast after night 1 it's reputedly haunted and asked "did we sleep ok ?!!" ( we did ) Read article online and very interesting history to the whole building, which added to it's charm. Eclectic establishment, which we loved. Great little seating area by fire, in pub area surrounded by antiquities. Spent a few hours just taking it all in and relaxing. Nice garden area, be fantastic in the summer one imagines. Bedroom facilities much as downstairs pub area, antique furnishings and lots of character. Bathroom although decor dated, was very clean, provided with clean towels, toiletries as one would expect. Bed a delight to look at but could have done with better mattress, bit 'lumpy'. Wiifii worked fine. Friendly staff. All in all a great relaxed stay in a unique, historical place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Austell

Character hotel/former coach station in Devizes

Posted Nov 21, 2016
As mentioned, it's a former coach station now full time hotel and bar. Excellent character features and evidence of its past through out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucester

CHARACTER HOTEL

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Market town, lots to do, beautiful surroundings, i was here to visit my family
Had a nice stay, have stayed before. Had eerie experience when waking, my hotel keys had dismantled by themselves and were seperate ( very ghostly ) Good location, lovely staff, breakfast is so yummy Only bad experience was Expedia taking payment twice for booking, one 48 hrs before arrival and again at checkout, which left me overdrawn, so my lesson is book direct now
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stop off - close to no. 4 cycle route

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Location, lively pub, good food and made to feel welcome by friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Hairdryer in the room would have been useful as not something you would carry on a bike and it's ideal as a stop off from London to Bristol.
Location: No 4 sustains cycle way literally minutes away.
Stayed on a Saturday night and got exactly what we were expecting- a quirky pub, friendly staff, good food and service. There was live music two local lads who's hard work, practice and talent entertained. It's a busy pub used by a lot of locals and not for those seeking a quiet night but would certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Nice Hotel very central

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: So much character
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lovely scenery, I would go back for a non-work trip and stay for longer
Excellent customer service, made a work trip very fun Thank you to the staff for the excellent hospitality
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Ideally located in high street

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Stayed one night hear what a night such friendly staff normally a dull night turned into a very friendly atmosphere would deffinately stay again here. Room spacious clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lots of character - room and service appalling.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pub full of bric a brac, room v small and stuffy. Bathroom appalling. Partly blocked shower over bath with disgusting shower curtain. Basin stained, taps v difficult to turn on, even more difficult to turn off. No water for loo flush in morning. Window overlooking pub garden, loud music til 11.30 one night, 11 the next.after complaints V noisy partying people til gone midnight. Kitchen extractor under window - so loud it rattled the panes. Arranged breakfast at 7.45 for 6 people but no one appeared until 8 then just switched on cold water samovar for tea and instant coffee. Evening meal ok. A popular pub for drinking and music - but awful to stay in
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Interesting and quirkily - pub!

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: The decor was very interesting, quirky and atmospheric. Staff were friendly.
Cons: More of a welcome when arriving.Cooked breakfasts should be provided between the times stated. Better quality coffee should be served -in cafetière.
Location: Great if you want to explore the centre of Devizes and surrounding area.A very interesting old town with many historical buildings.
Liked the pub when we arrived. Interesting and quirky decor, busy and friendly. However, staying there was not so pleasant. The Dickens room - Bleak House ! was comfortable but the plain white basic bathroom with hand held shower - fitting not present - was disappointing. Also the breakfast - told up to 9.30am service - arrived at 9.27am. Told too late for cooked by chef in kitchen.Kind waitress said she would cook for us. It was good but self - service cheap instant coffee and do - it - yourself toast not so good! Would not stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carshalton surrey.

In need of care and attention

Posted Jun 28, 2016
This hotel badly needs some attention. We had 2 rooms. My one had a broken shower fitting which was unusable . My daughters room had no lighting and despite reporting it early . We then returned from an evening out to find it still not fixed. Both rooms were very dusty . Beds really uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interesting visit

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: I loved the quaintness of this hotel and central location. The façade had just been taken back to the original stone and it looked superb.
Cons: Tiles coming away in the bathroom, shower curtain grubby, mould on the bathroom ceiling and round the bath
Location: Centrally place in Devizes
I loved the quaintness of this hotel but there was much to do to in order to bring it up to standard. Bedroom curtains looked like they had been bought at a car boot. There was some nice furniture in the room but far too much of it. Bathroom was not in keeping with its surroundings and quite honestly needed some money spent on it. Beds however were comfortable and sheets etc spotlessly clean. Food was also excellent, of which we ate lunch and breakfast. When I said there were no cups on the tray for tea in the morning I was literally given 2 cups (no saucers), the butter was literally a pack of butter on a plate.When asked if we wanted cooked breakfast and said yes he just walked away, no choices.