Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Poached Eggs

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Poached eggs the best I've had in England, the homemade marmalade was great and the girl delivering our food was dear.
Cons: Staircases could be vacuumed better, conditions in our room and bathroom upgraded and in the accommodation as a whole.
Location: Good location near centre of town.
Nothing in our room to put bags off the floor, no chairs, no table and a bathroom down the hall. Minimum cable stations. Microwave to use in the breakfast area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grimsby

Close to everything in town

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Very nice people. Great breakfasts, rooms need update
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from exeter

convenient to town centre

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: owners very pleasant - eager to please
Cons: nothing
Location: handy for local pubs which there are plenty of! nearby river if you like walking
ideally situated near town centre - no need for taxi after a night on the town - very amicable owners
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Martin

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic b & b. Chris and sue were very welcoming and friendly and breakfast was great. Looking forward to returning in the summer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London Surrey

Guest House very convienient for shops and bars.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Near all shops and facilities
Cons: Its a very old house so not sure what could be improved but a lift would be the answer
Location: Lots to do if you wanted to, also a nice bus station
Very nice owners Chris & Sue. Nothing too much trouble for them. The staff were also very nice Only problem was the stairs leading up to the rooms, we counted 30 steps to our room. Not very good for older people, I am 78 and found it made my legs really ache going up and down. Chris was very kind and lifted our cases both times. Plenty of choice for breakfast and tea /coffee facilities in our room, which was comfortable,clean and nice beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter

ideal for local amenities

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: reasonably priced very pleasant staff
Cons: didn't realise room wasn't en-suite when l booked and bed was uncomfortable but a place to lay our heads
Location: five minute walk to local pubs and family
ideally situated for local pubs on recent stay and close to family. Bickleigh Mill close by for those who like a good restaurant and a with miniature railway for anyone with young children who like trains like our grandsons. Fishermans Cot is also very popular
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Notttinghamshire

Central location.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Friendlyness, cleanliness and breakfast.
Cons: Pillows.
Location: Located centrally. All shops and the market are within 5 minutes walk.
The owners, Sue and Chris made us feel very welcome. The Angel is a very old building and keeping it bright and inviting much be a full time job. Our room was very clean and well equipped with tea making kit, hair drier etc. The bed was comfy though we did find the pillows uncomfortable. Our bathroom and toilet we in the room next door which we feel should have been advised on the website. The provision of bathrobes was a great touch.The full English breakfast was to die for. Huge and cooked to perfection, a great start to the day. We have found a gem here and will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by Royston

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels