Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Rather dated

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Nice staff
Cons: Decor. Too much dust from all of the old threads throughout the hotel. When you're asthmatic this isn't ideal! Too expensive for the size of the room.
Location: Lovely place, 15 minute walk to the waterfront. Walk able distance to the town centre.
I chose this hotel after previously having stayed at the Jury's Inn in Plymouth but this was at a similar price so thought I would give it a go. The rooms in the pictures look nice but mine ended up being a small boxroom with a view to a wall. I could just about move around in the room and with an old chair, old curtains and thick carpets my asthma was being set off during the night. The decor was old and dated and I prefer something more up to date but I suppose that is just personal preference. The staff were friendly and breakfast was ok. Nothing spectacular - I would definitely try another hotel next time or go back to the trusted Jury's Inn.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

in need of modernising

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: close to city center
Cons: needs a make over and staff need to be trained on listening to and trying to resolve complaints off customers
Location: close to city centre
Paid top rates for a one night stay and very disappointed with the condition of the hotel, very over priced for the condition of the hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Over priced and in need of a refurbishment

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: the beds were comfortable
Cons: the whole hotel needs a refurbishment from the worn carpets to the walls screaming out for a fresh coat of paint
Location: good central location to the city center and Plymouth Hoe
This hotel was way over priced and not good value for money. The hotel is in a shabby state of repair and in need of a serious make over and a good lick of paint. I did not find the hotel staff very helpful either.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston

Refurbished, but finesse lacking.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Close to seafront and city centre
I stayed in a newly refurbished "Superior" room. It was obviously newly decorated and fresh carpets etc, but let down by the lack of refinements. The toilet didn't flush properly, in the living area there were 2 chairs which weren't very comfortable a small sofa would've made the room more luxurious. No pictures on the wall and the only full length mirror was inside the wardrobe behind the hanging space. There was a wedding on one of the nights I stayed and even though I had sought assurances about noise and disturbance, guests were smoking very close to my window and as the night wore on became more noisy. My parents met at a dance at this hotel during the war, so I would like to be more positive, but to be a topnotch hotel it needs to pay attention to detail.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near Town Centre

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Arrived late at hotel, left washing kit at home, told staff on miss hap,there said there was a Coop down the road. While I was out getting the replacement washing kit, the wife notice in the hotel book in the room ,that they would supply all of the things that we needed, The staff made no reference to this when we booked in , sloppy desk staff at night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Beautiful Historical Hotel in Plymouth

Posted Jun 24, 2016
The hotel building, lobby and dining room were beautiful. We had a corner room and both the room and bath were very spacious. Would definitely recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid if you want a good nights sleep

Posted May 4, 2016
Terrible experience. Although I arrived at the hotel shattered after a very busy working week I was unable to get a wink of sleep. Hotel is situated on a very busy main road with single glazed wooden windows which meant the room was incredibly noisy ad also cold. I stay in several hotels a week and im used to varying degrees of standards but would never stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location to explore

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Location
The hotel location is good to walk and explore the city. The facility itself was traditional and gave a good feel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Booked as the hotel is close to the Theatre Royal.

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: Easy booking. Hotel comfortable. Staff pleasant. Easy parking.
Cons: Only stayed 1 night, and it was fine for this.
Location: Very close to Plymouth city centre and ferry port. Good location for seeing city centre sights, shopping, going to theatre etc.
Have stayed here before. You know what you are getting with Best Western. Not exciting or 'boutique', but good clean accommodation, and helpful staff. Would recommend this hotel for similar purposes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Good location

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: Very convenient for the city centre.
Cons: Limited on site parking
Stayed at the hotel while attending a concert at the nearby Plymouth Pavilions. Very convenient location so close to the venue.