Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Polperro

Convenient hotel for The Pavilions

Posted May 20, 2017
Very good one night stay, only downside was that we could not get a meal in the restaurant before 7.30 which was too late for the show at the Pavilions. We did have an excellent meal in the bar, the whitebait was delicious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old hotel with character but...

Posted May 14, 2017
I had a single room that was rather utilitarian compared to my travelling companion's very large double room. My bed was quite old and creaky. A lot of outside noise that wasn't hotel's fault, but also a lot of inside noise - not sure if next door room or beneath me. Very poor sound insulation. Also requested soya milk on booking and none provided at breakfast, only individual tea cup portions. Would need rather a lot of them for cereal. Overall a bit disappointed with the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, centrally located but with drawbacks

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Booked this hotel on the basis it was central and had off street parking Arrived about 7pm, be warned the car park is tiny in comparison to the hotel with space for maybe 20-25 cars and was full. Had to park over the road and pay for parking (even in the evenings / early am to cover having breakfast and check out Staff are friendly, breakfast ok, but busy. So had to wait a long time to get coffee and breakfast order in Overall a bit tired
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Duke of Cornwell

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location, nice staff
Cons: See experience above
Location: The Hoe, The Barbican. Fifteen minute walk to shops. Twenty minute walk to station, but it is primarily uphill.
Great location as far as seeing the sights and walking to the shops. Nice hotel but dated decor with very creaky falls. You can hear every one walking around above you, so stay on the top floor. Nice staff, and clean rooms. However, rooms were very cold. Not all the radiators were working, and windows were single panned so room was draughhty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Awesome

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: It's a very old and part of a Plymouth that no longer exists...when it was prosperous..when probably one if tge most famous cities on the planet. TAG
Cons: It does need updating...but that would not be viable in the current economic situation TAG
Location: Close to Plymouth Hoe and the Pub on the Hoe...on my visit the sun shone brightly and the sea was calm...just sit and enjoy and chill...TAG
Ok it's very dated...loads of history...needs massive investment...but a treasure for those of us who appreciate old world charm...ok you could find cheaper...you could even find modern...but it is clean...comfortable...not quite the Randolph in Oxford... but for Plymouth...a great stay...weather did help of course...but would I recommend it...yes...TAG :-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Hotel nice and close to city Center, easy walking distance. Hotel room was a bit tired could do with a freshen up. Staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Kieran

No problems

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Just right
5 out of 5
by Kate

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Really beautiful hotel with lovely decor, the only let down was that the bed and pillows weren't very comfortable but overall we were really pleased and would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Very close to Plymouth Pavillions
Cons: Biggest issues was lack of parking.
Well situated hotel in Plymouth although room was noisy and there was nowhere to park overnight. We were told to park on the street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roomy

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyable stay, rooms were very large and had plenty of space. Some parts of the hotel look dated but it's not that bad. Car Park situated at the back but wasn't obvious when you get there. Luckily there was parking on the side, which was free after a certain time.