Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Good for a stop over,. Lovely quiet setting. Massive family room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Hotel is set in spectacular surroundings.

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The location and views
Cons: Like all hotels of its type it's a bit dated and it's wi if is very slo2
Location: Exeter is quite close and the coast
The Hotel is set in the heart of the Devon countryside but is very difficult to find .The satnav sends you up a rough track which used to be the drive to the old house , the Hotel being converted from the stable block. The Hotel needs to be signposted in the lanes leading to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancs

Nice hotel in rural area

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: All good
Location: Manor Inn lovely meal.Great Barn good wedding venue.High waterfall and country park nearby.Views stunning.
Lovely location and very helpful staff .Room was comfy ,clean and very nice.Nearby walk and open garden.Meals good and menu varied
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great for a short Break

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Location was amazing. Staff were brilliant.
Cons: Very little, I thought it was a great hotel.
Location: Canonteign falls (England's highest waterfall), Buckfast Abbey, Torbay, Exeter, Buckleigh (Fisherman's Cot) on the river, great place for lunch/dinner
Stayed with my family for a short 4 day break. Fabulous location, brilliant views across country and so quiet. Breakfast was superb and the staff were ready on hand to solve the slightest problem. The restaurant menu was quite extensive and covered all tastes. We ate dinner on 3 occasions and the food was always well cooked and well presented. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Overnight Business Stay

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Quiet, characterful building and the food was absolutely first-class.
Isolated country Hotel, as expected and desired, though only a few minutes of the main road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet location spectacular scenery

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Everything you could wish for Catered efficiently for 40 plus birthday party
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from France

A haven of tranquility.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The staff. The comfort. The surroundings.
Cons: A notice that just about anything we could have wanted was available at reception, was hidden in the information book. It should be more prominent.
Location: Not easy to find but worth the effort. Magnificent views. Pretty villages and vibrant Exeter just a short drive away. Wonderful countryside walks.
As we drove into the parking area the magnificent Devonshire countryside stretched before us. Behind us the courtyard of the hotel, twinkling with lights, welcomed us with the promise of outdoor relaxation on summer nights. Peeking through the windows we could see a large reception room set up most attractively for a wedding and reception. The staff, from receptionist to waiters to chamber maid, were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious with a large, well fitted bathroom. In February the hotel was not full but it appeared to be well soundproofed. We slept well. We enjoyed an excellent dinner and then a very good breakfast on the following morning. Throughout our stay we were made to feel that our comfort and enjoyment were important. We only wish that we could have stayed longer.
4 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
After a very rural journey, this hotel stands in a lovely part of the country with great views. The welcoming staff made you feel at home straight away and the rooms were spacious and clean, with good facilities. The building itself is old and shows plenty of character and only those expecting the "TV pub culture" will be disappointed. Both evening meal and breakfast were excellent. A good comfortable nights sleep left me ready for the day ahead. I only wish I could have spent the next day walking the valleys rather than working.
5 out of 5
by Simon

Relaxing Retreat while working away.

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect retreat after working on an industrial estate all day. Only 4 miles to get to this peaceful and beautiful location. Not easy to find in the dark, but worth it when you get there. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Nice hotel, lovely setting. Local a little remote