Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Not what I expected

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: The beds were very comfortable and clean
Cons: Staff need training
Location: Lovely location didn't visit locally as was only down to collect daughter
We have stayed in Best Western before and have been please with everything. For starters I asked about whether we had to book for evening meal was told no when we got there we were turned away as we needed to book Couldn't have a shower as the tap broke jamming the water on coming out of shower head and bath tap. Had breakfast which was not very good and one of the waiters was very grumpy, even having a moan to another in our hearing. N Not impressed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Convenient overnight stop.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Internet
Cons: More interesting toiletries would have been better than an all in one foam.
Location: The hotel was in a quiet position next to the river Teign. It was close to the A380, which provided links to the S Devon coast, Dartmoor and beyond.
We had just walked some of the SW Coastpath for three days and were pleased to take advantage of an Expedia deal to stay at the Passage House hotel. Our room was in the North Lodge across the car park from the hotel. The lodge looked quite New and our room was great with plenty of space and good facilities. Our only problem was the new type of shower. Although the staff had advised instructions should be put in the guest handbook, that hadn't been done. We couldn't switch the water off!! Fortunately we were moved to an equally good room. And the taps were dealt with. We chose to eat in the Passage Inn, which was a two minute walk away and thoroughly enjoyed the excellent carvery. We had a continental breakfast. There was a cooked breakfast available for a higher price, which looked good as well. All the staff were delightful, efficient and helpful. It was obvious they all work very hard to make the guests stay as pleasant as possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay great staff fabulous views

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The young lady on reception when I checked in was the most helpful hotel receptionist I've ever encountered and this set the whole tone of my stay excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from coventry

Overnight stay enroute to final destination

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Very pleasant. Reception staff were excellent. Well recieved despite the late check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel close to estuary.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Lovely aspect from verandah, bedroom very comfortable and close to Newton Abbot and surrounding areas.
Cons: Restocking at breakfast time.
Location: Good situation for surrounding areas and close to estuary.
Spent one night here so not able to use many facilities. Good meal in dining room.....Good choice for dinner, good value. Breakfast was much poorer.....Arrived at 8.30 and choice from buffet table was very restricted as juices, natural youghurt,glasses were reported.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon UK

Lovely hotel quick and easy service

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Only stayed for 1 night but would definitely go again quick and easy check in and out room was big and clean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bovey Tracey

Was adequate

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The room was adequate for what I needed. It could of done with a lick of paint and maybe a bit of a tidy up on the walls. The walls were quite thin and I was next to the stairwell and elevators so everytime someone used that I heard it. It was ok but I have stayed in some much nicer places for a lot less money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Attitude of staff

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The reception staff were quite unfriendly no conversation made us feel quite unwelcome almost as if we were an inconvienience. Wich was unfortunate as the room hotel location and view from our room was excellent. Also we reported to reception at 0700 hrs that the car park outside of our lodge was icy, having sliped over coming out ,nothing was done about this and the same situation occured the following morning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Worse best western I have ever stayed at

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Staying at another best western 3 weeks ago I was deeply shocked on my experience here. Room in main hotel (2nd room in party booking) occupied by my father. Very dated, flash back from the early nineties. Stains on carpet and chair stain looked to have been caused bodily substance. Room had bad condensation and mould around window frame. Walls were very thin, being able to here the next room speak. When breakfast was attempted staff were to rushing about being busy but restaurant had few guests. It took 8 minutes to acknowledge us. when incepting the table the knife and fork was dirty with pieces of old bacon stuck to them, and this was on a fresh table setting. When raised to staff my unhappiness it was indicated that I was on a cheap discounted rate and was an excuse. I didn't attempt breakfast again and was happy to complete my two night stay, the staff didn't attempt to ask my opinion about my stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Thankful I paid discount price !

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Was given room in lodge away from main hotel, this lodge, external doors where never locked anyone could enter. Room modern but had no sound proofing, between bypass car noise, trains going pass every 20 minutes, walls so thin you could here the next room and trying to sleep on a bed with a mattress no more than a few cm's. before mentioning the bathroom which smelt of stagnant water and toilet continously dripping. I would have got a better stay sleeping in my car!