Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dog friendly hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Very happy with total visit from booking to leaving. Every member of staff helpful and friendly, all areas clean, food good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Hotel close to Tiverton Town centre

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Convenient position of hotel
Cons: Certainly the bathroom showers
Location: Tiverton is a small town with many small shops and market place complete with castle and canal system.
Ive stayed at this Hotel for a number of years and this year over new Year I found the hotel a little disappointing. The Deco is now looking a little tired and needs freshening up. The breakfast has completely changed, the content is mostly the same although the menus has a lot of the items taped over so no longer available. I normally ate at about 09.15 and the food was beginning to look unappetising, the baked beans were beginning to congeal, the scrambled egg very dry, Other than tea or coffee and call orders it is totally self service now, whereas before there was a young lady keeping a constant eye on the hot food and it always looked appetising. This also applied to the cold selection of segmented fruit, cheese and meats. The room shower is still a non thermostatic bath head shower with a blade shower pattern hand set. You would expect this sort of shower head to be used in conjunction with a modern fixed drench type shower head but not in this case and in fact I complained of this shower type three years ago and was told that the showers were being upgraded. It would appear to be a very slow upgrade process. The bed mattress whilst comfortable, tended to roll you towards the centre but, as I said it was comfortable. My overall feelings were that the hotel was beginning to enter the Travel lodge standard of hotels which are a lot cheaper in price of course. Having said all this I have stayed in a lot worse hotels. I understand however that a Premier Inn is coming soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnersh Berkshire

Nice hotel close to our daughters.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Very nice stay even daffodils in the garden. Having spent time with family able to take granddaughter back to hotel free of charge as we had a spare bed in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Nice place

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Well this is a repeat booking I stay here as it is clean and reasonably priced staff helpful close to Tiverton town walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yelverton, devon

everything was excellant

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: location was perfect and very easy to get to, nice and quiet with Tiverton canal nearby .
we were able to take our dog and he was made very welcome with dog welcome pack in room which impressed us very much, the room was very clean and beds so comfortable, was a little bit hot for us but i couldnt work out how to open window, the down side was the windows condensated very much so maybe new windows need to be considered but other than that it was perfect. The staff were excellant and very helpful and nothing was too much trouble at all i would recommend this hotel 100%
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Good location
Cons: Better beds, doors that close more softly and better soundproofing.
Hotel is in a good location but our overall stay was spoilt by the noise of other guests in the early hours of the morning. The bedroom doors all slam shut and there isn't much in the way of soundproofing. The beds are far too soft which meant sleeping was difficult. On the plus side, breakfast was good and the staff were very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Really good all round

Posted Oct 6, 2016
As before we enjoyed staying here thanks to nice, efficient staff, clean, spacious comfortable room with a terrific shower, and a really good quality breakfast. All at a very reasonable rate too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midlands

Dont be put off by the exterior.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: We especially liked the room which was extremely spacious and very comfortable.
Cons: There was a wedding on during our stay so we were unable to make use of the bar area.
Location: We enjoyed an excellent meal at the trout inn about 10mins away.
Outside looked dated but inside it is being upgraded and was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tiverton

Stopover

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Location and quietness.
Fantastic location 7 miles off the M5 via a dual carriage road. Perfect ,peaceful overnight stay between Lincoln and Penzance. This is my second overnight stopover enroute and the hotel is everything required for such a journey-highly recommend it for any type of stay.!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location friendly staff

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Location was real good and in prime place. Staff were very friendly as well. Breakfast was good but was let down by not being a buffet which you would expect and no cakes etc for sweet toothed. Otherwise was good. Would recommend