Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northants

Lovely tranquil location and atmosphere.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel is quiet and relaxing. Plenty of pleasant walks. Not far from Exeter and Exmouth
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location and property , pity about no bar available
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remote location with lots of character.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Character
Cons: I personally don't like numerous notes plastered around the property and would prefer requests and instructions be incorporated into a manual.
Location: As a remote location it unfortunately is short of amenities and limited selection of mediocre restaurants.
We arrived about 6.30 and there was nobody at reception. Key was there with a note and order form for breakfast. Signage and directions were poor other than numerous numerous notes about what to do and not to do ! So first impressions were not positive however this all changed in the morning when we met the staff and owner who were delightful. Breakfast was excellent in a delightful any airy room. This was a derilect property when the owners took over and they have done an excellent job of restoring.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Gavin from Folkestone

Very Good

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Not good for a person on business, but fantastic for a couple on a few days away.
5 out of 5
by Lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: I liked the tour of the castle. The breakfast was very good. Lovely area.
Cons: Beds are a bit uncomfortable for some of us.
Location: Very nice location.
Lovely stay. Nice staff. Lovely grounds.jjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj
2 out of 5
by Elsie from Glasgow

Weddings Are Priority

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
Bedroom great if a little tired furniture wise ,but not ensuite. Shower room next door so not ideal,it was tiny and badly needing up-dated. No t.v. reception when it rained which it did a lot. Owners more interested in wedding business. We tramped the red carpet on our way to breakfast,left out all the time so rather wet, dirty and soggy. The castle is attached to the accommodation. Breakfast was good chef had lots of banter. He doubled as the server and clearer.
3 out of 5
by Peter from Newton Poppleford

Wonderful location but beware noise from above

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely location, interesting and quirky accommodation, fascinating tour of castle, nice breakfast. Would have been a perfect overnight birthday treat, but for the noise from the people in the room above. I don't blame those guests, as they were just behaving normally - it was just one of those buildings where every footstep reverberates downstairs. We were put in the family room 10 in Barn Cottage, which is an otherwise delightful room. If you are offered this room, I would only take it if no one was staying in the room above.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Quirky stay in fabulous setting

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Setting is beautiful.
Cons: Bathroom could do with updating and we hadn't appreciated that we'd hear the residents upstairs pacing the floor at odd times. No wifi in rooms !
Location: Beautiful rural setting.
Comfy bed , brilliant breakfast in an amazing setting. Staff were delightful .