Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beds

Shame about the power cut :-S

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Nice place, good value, walking distance to Powderham Castle just a shame we had a power cut so not hot shower, no kettle or TV, family room was worth the money though, clean and tidy
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Aust

Lovely village out of Exeter

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Pleasant staff
Location: As abve
Lucky had car had not realised how far out of exeter Chinese meal ok but not exceptional for price Comfortable room lovely little village and close to castle but does not open Saturday's
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great restaurant, hotel room could use improvement

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: The Chinese restaurant decor was top quality and the food and service was very good, parking at the rear of the hotel is ample.
Cons: Room size is small and needs some updating, Floors creak badly and Shower water temperature needs to be looked at.
Location: Good location for local beaches
Upon arrival with a large number of bags the door to the hotel was locked. We rang the door bell a number of times and waited but no answer. I finally saw a kitchen worker around the back of the hotel and asked him to tell someone to open the door. After a few moments the door was opened by a pleasant lady who eventually found our reservation. The room upstairs above the restaurant was somewhat disappointing as it was small. Trying to adjust the temperature on the shower was difficult as it was intermittently hot and cold and needed to run for a while until temperature steadied. The Chinese restaurant decor was very good as was the food, it was a quite night and we where the only customers. The hotel is under renovation during the day with a new extension being built at the back. The hotel has ample car parking in the back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
Good place to stay, bedroom and bathroom decoration was basic. Towels a bit thin.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North East

A restaurant with rooms - as advertised

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: The smashing food and the very friendly staff.
Cons: There was no mobile phone coverage but there's not a lot you can do about that.
Location: Don't know - we were passing through.
It is a restaurant with rooms near to Exeter; which was exactly what I was looking for. Guys and gals couldn't have been nicer / friendlier. It was a good honest one night stay with some really really nice food into the bargain.
5 out of 5
by Cristian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Richard from Devizes

Exactly what was required

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Just the one night. Though I didn't eat in the restaurant, it seems good and popular with the locals.
5 out of 5
by Sophie from Ashford

Wonderful stay!

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
We used chi as a stop gap for our journey from Kent to Cornwall. Was brilliant. Room was cosey and clean and had everything we could have asked for. We ate in the restaurant too and was so much more than I expected. Was like eating in a posh hotel in London. Food was absolutely amazing and a truly plesent stay. Also got 15% off the bill as we were staying. I must also add that the service was out of this world. So warm and welcoming. Thank you chi!!!!
5 out of 5
by Paula from Tavistock Devon

Amazing

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely amazing, fantastic all round
4 out of 5
by Alan from Bristol

Tired of the norm? Try this place.

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
A fantastic friendly family run hotel. The food in the restaurant is very high quality Chinese and discounted to residents. A very different experience from the bland beige of large hotel chains.