Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Character Inn with friendly staff

Posted Jul 11, 2016
More than helpful staff and newly refurbished room. Very nice little hotel with restaurant and bar. We wish them well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Very good find

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Friendly
Location: Close to Teignmouth and moors too
Having decided to check straight out of our last hotel this became an excellent last minute find. The owners and all staff were friendly and helpful in this newly refurbished hotel. Our room was beautiful and had enough room for our dog with no problem. The breakfast is excellent as were our evening meals and booking is certainly advised as the restaurant was full each evening. The owners can recommend areas for walks etc and were excellent hosts. Many thanks for such an enjoyable stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice welcoming hotel

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Close to coastal towns
Good hotel with pleasant staff and good facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yeovil

Name Change

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Fantastic refurb. Clean. Pleasant staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Not a lot but you could walk down to estuary or to teignmouth.
You still call it Cockhaven Manor Hotel. For some reason 3 or 4 weeks ago they changed the name to cockhaven Arms. We had trouble finding it. Manager apologetic and said you have been told.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shrewsbury

ideal peaceful location

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: Homely feel and peaceful. Nice bar area
Cons: Everything was fine for us
Location: Located next to Teignmouth with Newton Abbott and Torquay not far away.
We wanted a hotel in reach of local towns and the Cockhaven fitted the bill. We were pleasantly surprised during our stay at the hotel. Very friendly staff. Comfortable homely room with tea and coffee making facilities. Excellent hearty breakfast. My wife and I will certainly stay there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Cockhaven Hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: Lots of parking
Cons: The door hinges could be oiled
Location: We went to see friends so amusements were not needed
When we were shown to our room by a lady who didn't identify herself, she opened the door saying 'It's a bit shabby - it's due to be refurbished next year'. Not the best start. The carpet was quite stained, every floorboard creaked, each door squeeked and the bathroom was very difficult. The bath was coffin shaped and sized and the shower was an over the bath shower. The shower screen restricted access to the hand basin and one of the taps was damaged. If one went to the basin to wash one's hands, it was necessary to back out as the space was extremely limited. Maybe the cost was average for the accommodation, but we felt it was it wasn't very good value. No-one asked if everything was alright or if we enjoyed our stay. I had to ask twice for the bill which I think should have been prepared and ready.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

nice comfortable hotel and grounds

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: the atmosphere
Location: as we usually go to devon to see family the location is very central for us but also for the local seaside resorts
we were only able to stay for one night as my wife was taken ill and had to return home but our stay was very pleasant the room was good and the staff very understanding when we had to leave early. we would recommend it to our friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxfordshire

Close to relatives in village

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: It was close to all amenities that we required
Cons: The whole hotel needs remodelling but it does the job.
Location: Visit the vineyard and the local golf club. Wonderful views and great walks.
Everything was good. Although the hotel is tired and needs a revamp it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old and tired...

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Table and chairs in bathroom.... Rug in bathroom very old... Very dusty. Not worth the 90 pounds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Outside town but within easy reach of everywhere.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: The owner was friendly.
Cons: There was a slight smell of dust about the carpets.
Location: Great location with easy access, by car, to beach and town.
We had a really good night. We went into town and onto the beach. The room was nice althogh the plumbing could be little noisy.