Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and tired

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Old tired hotel with poor decor. Needs full refurbishment in all areas. Great location near to the station but not a welcoming hotel and whilst everything was as described it does not leave you feeling like you've had value for money
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
I was only there one night, and used no facilities. Booking in Lady was very polite
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

A comfortable hotel near the city centre.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The room, the food and the friendly staff.
Cons: Free wifi provided.
Location: It was near the city centre and quite close to Plymouth Hoe, so you could park your car and not need it for the rest of your stay.
The hotel was comfortable with friendly staff. Our room was very comfortable with a sofa and armchair. The bed was of a good quality. We only had breakfast on the two days, but it was very good, plenty of choice and delicious. Our overall experience was very good and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suusex

Disappointing

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: city centre position
Cons: refurbishment and a review of customer requirements
The hotel did not live up to its booking promise. It was overpriced at £168 per night without breakfast + £7.50 to park. The shower was over the bath and for those who dislike the shower curtain being blown onto your skin it was doubly irritating. The double bed was far too small and was tucked between a shelved alcove. Whilst one was given slippers and a bathrobe, which I never use, we were denied simple essentials such as tissues and sufficient milk to have more than one cuppa. I will not be staying there again TQ
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from reading

Central hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful and hotel location
Cons: Free car parking,
Location: The barbican with historic buildings and gin distillery Sparkwell zoo Plymouth argyle football club
Hotel is walking distance from the train station as long as you have not got heavy cases. Right next door to sainsburys.it is close enough to walk all around town centre , the barbican , hoe area and home park football stadium. The hotel interior was clean although room had no fridge ,the chest of drawers needed attention and the modem for tv was playing up but after phoning reception someone came up within 5mins to look at it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Bigger car park
Location: The hotel is right in the town and 10 minutes from the Hoe and Barbican
Went down to Plymouth to see relatives and could not have stayed in a more friendlier hotel, all staff were very friendly and welcoming.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and convenient hotel near town centre

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Convenience to places we wanted to visit.
Cons: Car park fees and wifi fees are not included. Hotel bar shuts at 1am, with no exception for guests.
Ideally situated for the city centre, and a short walk from attractions like the Barbican and hoe. Easy access to the road system
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Very clean, comfortable hotel with a great breakfast on offer (buy it there - cheaper than pre-booking). Decor is a bit dated but the staff are very helpful and the location mean overall a good stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Good Central location

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Easy check in and was given a suite room because no standard rooms left. Lovely staff. Clean room, big bathroom. Only 5-10 mins walk from bust station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by Trevor, Hotel Management
Dear Tracey, Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay. We trust that you will stay with us again on your return to Plymouth. Kind Regards, Trevor Vels | General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Convenient BIG hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: The Hoe, Barbican District, National Aquarium, shopping, pubs
In the center of town -- easy walking to all the sights
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Trevor Vels, Hotel Management
Dear Jimmy, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for your positive comment regarding our location and proximity to the attractions in the city. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Plymouth. Kind Regards, Trevor Vels | General Manager