Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Lovely hotel, amazing evening food

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Spotlessly clean room, excellent en-suite and great food
Cons: Breakfast didn't start until 8am. 7.30am would have been a lot better for us or a Continental breakfast in you room option.
Location: Kayaking the river dart...excellent fun and a must visit place during winter months for a lively trip along the river. (In a group for safety reasons)
Spotlessly clean room, nicely decorated and really great en-suite. Evening food excellent with really friendly hotel team. Only slight down side (for us) was Sunday breakfast didn't start until 8am. Fine for many but we (and another guess) had somewhere to be at 9am, meaning breakfast was very very rushed.
4 out of 5
by sunny from london

lovely break at DARTMOOR

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
we had a great time.first night didn't sleep well because of the noise.asked the manager the next day and she changed our room.very friendly staff.i recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Steve from Bagshot

One night en route to Cornwall

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Service in the restaurant was slow despite it not being full at both breakfast and dinner. Staff very very friendly and polite - just not enough of them! The room would benefited from seating for two people - there is space.
5 out of 5
by David from Swansea

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Postcode on website is not accurate. Hotel was very comfortable, with friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Beautiful hotel and very friendly staff. Room was small but only needed to sleep there as out busy during day. Extractor vent was right by bedroom window which was a little noisy and smelly but once bar was shut it was not too bad.
4 out of 5
by Billy from Winchester

Business trip

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Both food and accommodation are fantastic value for money! Staff are friendly and always smiling. Room was very clean and decorated nicely. One small thing.....the wifi is useless upstairs! At least it was in room 15.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good for the price

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
This was a one night stopover. The room was an upstairs room as we had asked for but as the weather was very hot so was the room and no fan was supplied. Otherwise food in the bar and breakfast were very good. The hotel is on a main road and was very noisy for sleeping.
4 out of 5
by Margaret from Milton Keynes

Disappointing after previous visit.

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
Our room was beside the kitchen chimneys, which made it very hot. Also due to work being carried out on the refurbishment we could not open the window, which the blinds were attached to, as the workmen were walking past before 8.00 am. We stayed in the same hotel last year and our visit was far more comfortable. Note to self, do not visit again unless rooms can be pre-booked
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: food &comfort & staff
Cons: Should be much better when refurbished, so would be unfair to make any comments.
thoroughly enjoyable.Would certainly recommend it. Should be even better when refurbishment is underway.Food was very good value & nicely presented.We stayed in a twin room & the beds were really comfortable. The staff made us very welcome.especially Daniel who was a real character.We will certainly return.foo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant hotel / pub, nice food and friendly

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Stayed one night, two rooms. Very pleasant hotel / pub, nice food and friendly staff