Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent for town or country

Posted Jul 4, 2016
I only stayed one night as I was singing in a concert, but they allowed me to park my car there in the morning before rehearsal, even though my room wasn't quite ready, and I checked in later. My room, number 10, was right at the top with everything I needed and a good-sized, light bathroom, and very comfortable bed. I had to leave early in the morning but they accommodated this and made sure I had the coffee and toast I requested. It was a very quick walk to town and good that the house is set back off the road with plenty of parking for guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

pleasant hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Cons: The shower was a bit small and fiddly to get the right temperature
The breakfasts were excellent and very nicely cooked and nothing was too much trouble for whatever we wanted. there was a very good Chinese restaurant very close to the hotel for evening meals. Quite close to the shops but rather a long walk to the harbour. Our room was very clean .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel next to centre

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: This hotel is next to english school
It was very good. All time I receive support of staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yeovil

Great value, will stay again.

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was superb, including fruits. Very welcoming staff. Free wifi.
Cons: Not a lot. Perhaps an email address on the booking page so I could let them know I'm with my dog.
Location: Very close to the town hall and main shopping street, just a few minutes stroll down to the marina and harbour side, which is the place for food.
Cannot fault this hotel, especially at the price. Friendly welcome, host very keen to give directions to local amenities, dog walking areas and shops. Location is reasonably central close to the town hall. Breakfast was superb (8.30-9.30 so not for the early birds), included selection of fruits, all the spreads (and Marmite) and extra toast. Note, they do not take dogs in all rooms, so was quickly swapped to a small but quite comfortable en suite on the ground floor. (Do what I normally do, but didn't do this time, and email ahead if you have a regulation well-behaved dog.) Decoration pretty standard and well maintained throughout, including bathrooms. No dust or grime anywhere and the flowers on the breakfast table looked real. I will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Colin from Cornwall

Excellent small guest house.

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: Well presented and clean
Cons: Nothing
Friendly welcome from owner, comfortable, very clean room with double bed and ensuite shower room. No trouble with an early breakfast. I would certainly recommend and stay again.
2 out of 5
by Josh from London

Poor value for money

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: Breakfast was really good.
Cons: Size of room and bed. Staff leaving you to enjoy your breakfast in peace.
Location: Lame location.
My girlfriend and I were in the top room: ceilings too low for normal size humans, bed too short again for normal size humans. The little old lady that serves you breakfast was annoying and wouldn't leave our table. Not close to harbor. The breakfast was amazing though. Everything else was lame.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from Warwickshire, UK

Great hotel for couples

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Room on trend and very clean. Proprietors very friendly
2 out of 5
by Alphajude from York, UK

Faulty Towers

Posted May 21, 2013
Pros: Leaving
Cons: The bedroom
Location: Agood walk into the town
Booked a double ground floor room as we have a dog but we were put in a small top floor room because we had a dog, not even room for a dogbed! Room was hot and very noisy and not suitable for two adults and a dog. Not much point in booking specific room when the owner just puts you where he wants!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue and Marcus from Barry, South Wales

Felt like home from home

Posted May 18, 2013
Pros: Warm and friendly welcome
Cons: -
Location: Great central location close to town centre and harbour
Very impressed right from the start. As soon as we walked in Jon greeted us by name without me needing to tell him who we were. Very informative with what to see around the area and where to eat. Very friendly welcome indeed. Room was very clean, well presented and had plenty of storage space for our clothes etc. Very informative welcome pack in the room. Provisions in the room (tea, coffee etc and toiletries in the en suite) were plentiful. Very impressed. Great value for money and would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by N. from London, UK

Avoid

Posted Jun 24, 2012
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Central
Unfortunately this hotel is another '4 star' property that doesn't live up to the rating. The rooms are small, dated and had an over powering smell from the plugin air freshner (something to hide?). The owner was yelling at his elderly mother and very unorganised. We felt cheated and very disappointed with the hotel.