Ratings based on 1,425 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff very friendly and helpful- enjoyed my stay

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Very enjoyable stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very clean and equipped with every need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Excellent hotel, shame about the coffee.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Impeccably clean everywhere, and the room was spacious. The beds are super-comfy and the staff friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was relaxed and jolly
Cons: The "coffee". My preference for a free newspaper would be The Guardian rather than The 'i', but at least there was no sign of a Daily Mail.
Location: The location is handy if you need to be in Plymouth, but it's not a picturesque spot (unless you like main roads).
Just a single night in this functional, corporate, rather faceless hotel. That's not intended as derogatory in the slightest.... it doesn't pretend to have character or charm, and doesn't go in for faux wood panelling or anything vintage or retro. Just a good, honest, friendly place to sleep. I think it's intended for business people; we seemed to be the only ones at breakfast not wearing a suit. It serves its purpose perfectly, albeit with dreadful coffee at breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warrington

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Good quality hotel, riendly staff perfect for business or plasure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good for proximity to hospital

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: didn`t venture out too much as weather shocking but great for hospital visits...... I would market to visiting surgeons /speakers/ hospital alumni .
Had a very relaxing time..... I needed to go into hospital first thing the following morning for a heart condition and obviously needed to relax. I cannot fault the staff, cleanliness etc.... However, my partner smokes and so, when he needed to pop outside for a cigarette and left me in the room, having only one key, this meant that I woke up several times totally in the dark...no TV etc... ! If a couple are sharing, this doesn`t necessarily mean that they want to leave the room at the same time, so I would suggest issuing two keys - or one per guest. Also - VERY minor point - there were no sweeteners in the room`s coffee tray..... I`m diabetic as well ( !! ) and so would have liked those. Other than that, FABULOUS hotel and the staff are exceptionally helpful..... Will always stay there....... ! Alison
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend get away

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Hotel was great plenty of parking .. friendly staff ... rooms clean and spacious chocolate and water in the room is a nice touch... we didn't try the restaurant though but menu looked ok ... just what we needed for a weekend thank you :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay with friendly and helpful staff

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Good food, friendly staff. particularly good value hotel with nice hand-pulled beer which was a pleasant surprise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Nice out of town hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Bed, quiet, plenty of parking
Cons: Window seal. carpets looking a little tired
Location: Out of town, McDonald's across the road, m&s food nearby aswell.
Quick easy check in. Had room on 3rd floor looking out to the rear of the hotel. Room was clean, mattress soft but comfy. Window wouldn't fully shut so some traffic noise could be heard.didnt bother us though, still had a good sleep. Nice to have iron in the room however wasn't a steam iron. Slight wallpaper peal evident in corner. Bathroom practical and had a heated mirror that didn't steam up
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: It was quiet, large beds, large TV, although Sky would have been a bonus. The WIFI was blisteringly fast, and was free. Great for internet etc.
Cons: Maybe some decent entertainment TV channels, movies etc.
Location: Location was a bit sparse of nearby shops, restaurants. OK if you like Mcdonalds, KFC or Pizza Hut. A Good walk to the nearest pub that did good food.
Check-in was quick and easy, and the reception staff were pleasant and efficient. The rooms were clean and large, although we had a nice view of the back of the hotel, which showed a large area of Portacabins from some building site, it was not a concern. The hotel was quiet with good facilities for guests, including a laundry and fitness room. We didn't use the restaurant for any main meals as we were quite put off by the many negative reviews we found online. Breakfast was about averagely priced by most hotel standards, but the choice was limited in variety, for example, no Croissants, fruit compote, or continental style cooked meats or cheeses. That said, the cooked breakfast was fresh, hot and plentiful for those that partake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Nice clean hotel, spacious comfortable rooms, good food, awful coffee
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Nice and clean Good car parking facilities Nice restaurant