Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

If you're on a budget - and a train - it's fine

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Arriving at the station at 23.50 and being in bed by midnight.
Cons: It needs more than a lick of paint - but must say my room and bed linen were nice and clean.
Location: Station hotel.
It's now very scruffy here and there, but the old place is cheap, friendky, warm, comfy enough and very convenient for St David's station. The breaifast is excellent too.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Close to St David's, Exeter train station

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly, barman readily organised a taxi for us. the breakfast was lovely. The bed was comfy
Cons: Everything about the room and hotel is in desparate need of repair.Holes in walls, curtains hanging of rail, shower / toilet disgusting.
Location: Couldn't get closer to the train station if you tried, quite close to shops and university
Location is great for station and shops, however the hotel is very dated and in disparate need of lots of repair. curtains falling off rail, woodwork very damaged, holes in the wall. The sink is in the bedroom with the shower and toilet in v small box. the shower curtain and grouting is very mouldy and smelly. the shower wasn't very powerful. the toilet moved when you sat down and didn't flush properly , soap holder disgusting. The lampshade was so dusty balls of fluff were falling off. carpet not very clean. If you have tv on, the kettle has to balance on a chair (which was dirty) as not enough sockets. glad we only stayed 1 night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sussex

We couldn't stay at this hotel, it was awful

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Cons: This hotel needs to be closed down with a complete refurbishment
Location: The location for Exeter is good hence why we booked it
We tried 3 rooms and each room was dirty, scruffy, paint through damp peeling off the walls. Bathroom/toilet in dreadful condition. We left without staying
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Good value for money, had the essentials available and tea and coffee in the room provided.
Cons: Dirty bath, no plug socket that fits, bed too small with feet off the end, floor tiles peeling off.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff and very helpful at breakfast

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Great. Loved the free parking and breakfast! The bedroom was basic but good value for money. Quite but close enough to city centre with lush drinks
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs completely gutting. And money spent on it.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: Good for trains.
Rubbish. A lot of money needs spending. Bar very old and seating area very poor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tottenham, London

Very very tired with holes in the walls!

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: It's cheap and they have real ale.
Cons: Almost everything except the staff.
Location: It's well located to the main station and a short walk into the town centre but also with lovely walks nearby along the river and the canal.
Very very tired with holes in the walls and missing wallpaper. The hotel seems to be undergoing a slow refurbishment but I suppose you get what you pay for and it is the cheapest in Exeter. Its a shame as the staff do their best but its almost a "knock it down and start again" situation. All areas of the hotel are tired, dated, and shabby but the staff are doing their best and are to be applauded.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

great location, but hostel quality

Posted Sep 15, 2016
This hotel is in a great place...and that's about all the positive I can say. The rooms are tiny and require a meandering hallway to reach. The room was clean, and the breakfast was good, but other than that there is little good to say. I saw a desk staff member on the first night as I checked in, then never again for 5 days. Very strange vibe to the place, really a lot more like a low quality hostel than a hotel. The bed was barely tolerable, the bathroom hard to maneuver in. Had to pass three fire doors on the way to my room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Poor quality accomodation

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Leaving. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful, but unfortunately could not make for the absence of basic housekeeping
Cons: Plumbing, wiring, replacement of flooring including subfloor. Replace dysfunctional and mouldy draperies. Housekeeping was desperately inadequate.
Location: Exeter is a lovely place. Unfortunately, our stay was diminished by the hotel experience.
The absence of housekeeping detracted from an already poor quality room. The price was well beyond justification for the run-down state of the the facility. The lounge area was pleasant enough but the smell of the adjacent toilet was a major detractor
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Stay somewhere else. Stay somewhere else. Stay somewhere else. Stay somewhere else.