Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Martin from Ynysybwl

Lovely

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hosts - we will be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly B&B, convenient location

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Selworthy and Bossington are pretty National Trust villages and Tar Steps are worth a visit too.
We spent one night at Hillside House which was central to a tour of Exmoor. The owner was friendly and knowledgeable about the locality, breakfast was ample and tasty. Our only disappointment was the size of the room - barely a small double - and tiny ensuite. The room was well decorated and furnished, bed comfortable but the shortness of space to move around was unfortunate. We understand that the other rooms are larger and we did pay less for the room so have no complaint.
5 out of 5
by Jeanette from Portsmouth

Staying at hillside

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
As a visitor was made to feel very welcome. Denise was friendly, warm and helpful. Various places to visit and idyllic surroundings - rivers, waterfalls and gorges filled with trees. Definitely would visit again and stay with Denise.
5 out of 5
by Steven from West Mids

Great stay, we'll go back!

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
2 night autumn break in October 2015. A warm, friendly welcome from Denise who showed us to our lovely room with a river view. Comfy & clean, and a delicious home cooked breakfast to set us up for the day. The guesthouse is set up from the road, overlooking the river. A lovely spot. Denise is knowledgeable about local area, events, shops, walks and eateries. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Perfect location for walking and sightseeing.

Posted Oct 9, 2015
Pros: Very homely and good value
Location: Recommend the cliff railway and the walk to Watersmeet.The Bistro in Watersmeet Road is worth a visit....good menu reasonably priced
A very nice few days in a picturesque location. The owner was very friendly and welcoming, she offered another room which was larger and had better views,which was much appreciated. The breakfast was good and substantial . We had no problem, however it is worth mentioning that the entrance steps were very steep and would prove to be difficult if you have mobility issues . Lynmouth is an ideal location offering good food in a picturesque setting. We both recommend the walk to Watersmeet...superb.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S Wales

Tiny room

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Booked a standard Double ensuite, received a tiny double. Disappointed, and in such a beautiful village. Will i visit this village again? Yes.Yes.Yes. Stunning.
4 out of 5
by Holger

Die englische Schweiz hält was sie verspricht

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
Zimmerausstattung ist besser als der Eingangsbereich. Schick eingerichtete Zimmer, sehr sauber. Denise ist eine sehr herzliche Gastgeberin. Lage, Umgebung und Wandermöglichkeiten hervorragend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place to visit

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
Denise was great,location was fabulous in a most gorgeous town!
4 out of 5
by Colin from Swindon

A memorable and homely retreat!

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
Hillside Guesthouse was a great choice for a comfortable and relaxing weekend. The location is good with only a 10 minute walk to the restaurants and seafront, and close to the gorge for walks. Hillside is clean and homely, with helpful and friendly owers and one of the best breakfasts we have ever had! The only minor inconvenience is parking, with limited street spaces available, but not a great problem.
5 out of 5
by John from Glastonbury, Somerset

Hillside Guest House

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
My wife & I had a 4 day break from July 20th at Hillside House. Lovely 19th century house,very cosy, good location, lovely couple who run it, very good breakfast & in a good location. No on site parking but we had no trouble as you can park just down the road from 4pm to noon next day. Excellent break