Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The big things are right

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Very big comfortable room, good lobby and bar, wonderful staff (shame about the lime-green shirts). Just needs a little rejuvenation to get rid of some shabbiness.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Good hotel, soon to be a upgraded to a Crown Plaza

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Parking. Outside windows needed a good clean.
Location: Good Location and not far to walk to all the various holiday locations.
Good hotel, soon to be a upgraded to a Crowne Plaza and probably needs it as some of the area's looked a bit tired. However it did not stop us from enjoying our stay. One big point is the parking, very tight underground lots of pillars and not may spaces. We advanced booked a space, which cost us £21 for three days and was worth do that we had a reserved space as we went in and out a number of times. I suspect that this will not get any easier/better when it become a Crowne Plaza. We attended a small wedding reception at the hotel and the staff could not have been more helpful. Excellent food and a great event. Would stay again as very well located for Plymouth How and reasonable value for money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Could be a great hotel but the Bathroom was awful

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The Reception and restaurant
Cons: Revamp all the bathrooms
Location: Brilliant location and good near by amenities with in five minutes walk
This really spoilt our Holiday we booked for two nights and left the hotel after first night due the smell of damp from the bathroom. We spoke to the staff and they told us the hotel was fully booked on our first night and were very helpful to move us in to a different room following morning but we were so angry we decided to leave the next morning. Our kids were not happy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good view

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: View Big bedroom Comfy bed
Cons: Room could have been cleaner. Staff should not moan about superiors in hearing of guests.
Location: Hoe Lovely bars and cafes Trip on the riverboat Gin museum Pilgrim fathers museum
Lovely view of sea from restaurant. Restaurant staff friendly and helpful. Bar s5af; generally grumpy and housekeeping forgot to replace the coffee in the room. However, a good hotel for families and in an excellent location. Pool facilities good but pool a little murky.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice location

Posted Aug 13, 2016
great breakfast with a view. also facilities incl pool
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hrtfordshire

Fantastic Location

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location, comfort, facilities and service.
Cons: Firmer pillows
Location: It's position on the Hoe provided easy access to both the historical Barbican and the main shopping centre.
Whilst the hotel itself was good the location, on Plymouth Hoe, is fantastic. Our room was on the 3rd Floor had views of the Hoe itself whilst the Dining area on the top floor had views of the whole of the Hoe including the Bay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bahrain

Nice hotel but....

Posted Jul 15, 2016
The worst thing about the hotel are two things the pillows are not comfortable at all, when you wake up your nick and hands will be numb. Secondly the towels has stanes and not properly cleaned. Not refrigerator in the room. Good thing about the hotel : Location is great. Lobby is good. The breakfast is excellent. The facilities are good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cornwall

fantanstic location

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: location and the spa faciliaties
Cons: there could be more information on arrival and in the room
Location: wonderful area to walk along the Hoe and the Barbican
had a wonderful family weekend meeting up with grand children.The underground car park was very convenient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location, spacious rooms, pleasant stay

Posted Jul 12, 2016
The restaurant offers a great hot and cold breakfast buffet in a penthouse setting with wonderful views of the sea and local monuments. If you register at the front desk, you get a discount. The room was very spacious and there is a very nice pool and wet and dry saunas. It is in a good location, very close local sites like the Mayflower Museum and the Aquarium.
4 out of 5
by andrea from St Ives

Summer break - on crutches !

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly and helpful service , my daughter an accident on the morning of our visit and had what we thought was a sprained ankle (we later found out it was a broken leg ! ) we were late arriving and my daughter was in pain - but the staff were kind and helpful . My only complaint would be that in all the panic we forgot our night clothes ! And would have liked to have been able to hire 2 dressing gowns - but since we were not in an executive room we were told we could not. That made our stay a little uncomfortable but overall the lovely staff made a difficult situation bearable - thanks to the people who brought buckets of ice and trays of food to our room and offered a chair when we were outside waiting for a taxi - you are very kind xxx