Ratings based on 409 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Close to The Hoe , great location

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Located in easy walking distance to The Hoe, city centre and parks. Room very comfortable, twin room with two doubles, bed comfy, which coming from a very fussy arthritis sufferer must be comfy. Staff friendly and food nice. Breakfast tasty, although crammed into penthouse, but this temporary whilst being refurbished. Swimming pool nice, could have been slightly warmer. Overall a great stay and would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Hotel overlooking the Hoe

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Beautifully clean communal areas,brand new executive room, great pool area! Breakfast good choice. Staff very polite and helpful . Easy walking distance of the Barbican Family would like to return for a longer stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel close to city centre

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Quiet, clean, helpful staff, close to main city areas.
Cons: Some scuffing and dinking - eg bathroom door frame.
Location: Range of restaurants within 10 minute walk. This hotel is closer to the 'old' shopping area than to the more recent Drake's Circus shops.
Efficient and friendly check-in. Clean spacious room with some scuffed corners. Excellent bathroom. Staff helpful and pleasant. Good range of food at breakfast. The two nights we were there it was quiet and we slept well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Montreal

nice hotel well situated

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Cons: The buffet breakfast was excellent except for the congealed fried eggs
Location: location very good, walking distance to down town.
Our recent stay was due to a family funeral. Staff were helpful in every way, especially the front desk, helping with our check in at the airport.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern Lobby and friendly staff

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
The new refurbishment of the lobby area and reception was lovely- and made our stay easier and we used the Hotel bar more as a result. The rooms are a little dated but satisfactory and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff. Nothing too much trouble.

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Ebookers
It's the staff here that made our stay so good. The hotel is really nice too, though if you look closely, a bit shabby in places. Lovely lounge and bar in reception, and stunning views from restaurant upstairs. Very good selection at breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eyesore stuck in beauty spot

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Paid top dollar for an overnight stay and shoved in a room on the ground with a partition door to the next room which was paper thin so all I could hear was the four blokes who appeared to be crammed in there. Room was terrible. Ordered a Thai Green Vegetable Curry. Took so long to arrive, I thought it was coming direct from Bangkok. On the plus side, the gym was ok. Overall, though, dreadful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great one night stay

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed for a one night business trip. The hotel was great, big room, comfortable bed, pool and lovely breakfast with an amazing view
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels