Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R, Sydney, Australia

Beautiful place just below Dartmoor National Park

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Recommended to us for accommodation during a two-day business trip to Ashburton. An excellent base for this and our first stay anywhere in Devon. Relaxed and helpful staff. Good breakfast and facilities.
4 out of 5
by Jan from Dawlish

GORGEOUS SETTING, GREAT SERVICE

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
We use this hotel to escape for a night or two occasionally and it is rather perfect for that! We prefer the bar over the restaurant as the food is good and more choice. We have not tried the new spa yet but will do soon. Excellent friendly service. Rooms are good but some need refurb. Otherwise is really excellent hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Cosy winter weekend on Dartmoor

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Location - just under the amazing Haytor, quiet but not remote, quirky and personal. Room was warm and comfortable with some little extras.
Cons: Instructions to open window! Pen & paper in the room. Would have liked an easy chair for my aching bones but furniture is perfectly fine. Faster wi-fi
Location: Haytor is an easy drive or decent walk away. There are market towns in easy reach and the sea about half an hour's drive. What more can you ask?
I just needed an overnight stay while I was in Devon for a family event so I only arrived in the early evening and left after breakfast the following day - a fleeting visit but I intend to return later in the year for a longer break or holiday. The hotel is welcoming, cosy, has beautiful grounds and views and has a homely atmosphere without being imposing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely relaxing hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely friendly and relaxing hotel. We have stayed several times and it is fair to say some refurbished rooms are much better than those still to be done. We had a suite which is not cheap but as our son was with us it meant that the lounge could be made into his room. The problem is this makes the main bedroom fairly small and also although comfortable enough is a little outdated decor wise. However very peaceful given the setting and the staff are amazing. Food in restaurant good but little over salty for personal tastes. Pool etc are being refurbished looking forward to that
4 out of 5
by SandB from exeter

lovely location

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels
this hotel certainly has a good location if you like peace and quiet! The restaurant for breakfast is lovely regarding views but overall expensive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels
I stay in a lot of hotels and the first thing I notice is the welcome. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. It was a late booking and they sorted out a couple of problems. Questions were answered and local knowledge used. Thank you. Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from London

Lovely relaxing stay

Posted Jun 29, 2014
The hotel is a lovely building but is a little tired in places. The food was excellent but the service was a little slow and we had to wait quite a long time for dinner, but it was in such lovely surroundings that we didn't mind too much. The cooked breakfasts are wonderful and are served in their restaurant with beautiful views. The staff were incredibly helpful and all of our requests were met with a smile and very quick response and assistance. The room was nice and clean and comfortable. I didn't use the pool but my father did and he thoroughly enjoyed it and said the facilities were nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from Bristol

Excellent food; very friendly and helpful staff.

Posted May 6, 2014
Stayed just one night for a weekend break, but what a great surprise! The food in the bar (not even the main restaurant) was absolutely delicious: can't give enough compliments to the chef! Room was spacious, clean and well furnished. Small and slightly dated health suite with decent pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The staff are lovely: welcoming, friendly, happy to help and to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I would definitely stay again if in the area, as the hotel is positioned brilliantly for access to Dartmoor walks and activities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels