Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely grounds but average rooms and poor internet

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very average rooms and poor internet. Spa, gym, pool and grounds are nixe. Howevewr Edgemoor Country gouse down the road much superior and cheaper. (lovely rooms and fast internet)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

toller Kurzaufenthalt

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
Das Hotel mit dem schönen Garten hat unsere Erwartungen erfüllt
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel, friendly staff but a little overpriced. Rating downgraded because of poor or non-existent WiFi in rooms which was not as advertised. Reliable WiFi only available in public areas.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Lovely little hotel with a beautiful view

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on CheapTickets
A charming little hotel. Excellent service. Our room had a lovely view of the countryside. Breakfast and main dining room also has a beautiful view. Great dinner menu! It may be a country hotel, but the chef and menu offer top rate selections you might find in London. Only slight criticism is the bed was a little hard, but not a problem overall. Accommodations just a little worn here and there, but wasn't a problem for us either. Lovely tea set up with fresh baked flapjack in the room each day. Would definitely go back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Touring holiday
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Comfy hotel with great new spa and pool

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: The pool and spa area and the gardens.
Cons: The menu choice wasn't great, though they tried to accommodate my needs as a gluten-free vegetarian! The bedroom felt a bit 'dated'.
Location: Right on the edge of Dartmoor national park it was ideal for exploring the beautiful moors. It's also near to Exeter with its magnificent cathedral.
We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Dartmoor and because it had an indoor swimming pool. The pool area with very imaginative jaccuzi, plus steam room and sauna was really well-planned and laid-out. The gardens of the hotel are very nice too, though it was too cool in early April to make much use of them. The hotel was comfortable but rooms not spacious and perhaps needing a bit of a refurbishment; however they were clean and well serviced. We'd be glad to return at some point.
4 out of 5
by Julie from Frome

Relaxing Spa Break

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
Booked this hotel for a relaxing weekend away. We used our sat nav to get to the hotel, but for the last part of the journey it took us down some very narrow country lanes. We did however discover that there was a much better road if you don't take the shortest route! The hotel itself was lovely. It had a traditional hotel style interior and was well presented. Breakfast was very good. We especially enjoyed the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. We felt that the breakfast room would have benefited from a little background music as it felt like you had to whisper. We felt that the best part about the hotel was the spa. This was obviously a recent addition to the hotel. The steam room, sauna and pool were lovely but I must say hydrotherapy pool was my favourite. We had a fabulous break and would definitely return.
5 out of 5
by Johnathan from Lincoln

Fantastic country hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
We were dropping our son off at Exeter uni and decided to make a weekend of it. So glad we did as the hotel was a great find. The spa was very relaxing after a long day and dinner in the bar was one of the best meals we have had, we will have to try out the dining room next time. Can definitely recommend and we will certainly stay again next time we are down south.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with great staff

Posted Sep 20, 2015
This hotel is a gem. Great location to Dartmoor, staff were extremely welcoming. The spa just made the whole experience, great ambience and a treat to have drinks delivered to poolside! We will be back I'm sure.
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Bury St Edmunds

Beautiful Devon

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
The Hotel was great, beautiful location and well appointed spa. The rooms are in need of updating but are clean and comfortable. We ate at the Blue Tiger where the food was very 'Masterchef', very tasty and inexpensive for the quality we got. We would certainly go back, everyone was lovely