Ratings based on 638 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Romford. Essex

very close to Exeter town centre and eating places

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The bedroom but not bathroom Hotel lounge / bar area Excellent breakfast staff
Cons: Definitely in need of modernising bathrooms Better room cleaning / bed making etc Subsidised parking fees like other city hotels do
Location: A walk away from Exeter town for shopping facilities, restaurant, bars etc. Cream tea on the green was lovely Train stations are a 15 min walk
Parking is available at car park opposite the hotel but it was not made clear to us on arrival and on enquiring about parking that there would be an £8 per day charge. Staff were helpful and friendly. However a couple of requests regarding my room were overlooked. The room was comfortable, modern and adequate , however the bathroom was old and dated and definitely not cleaned very well at all. The linen is changed every 3 days but the beds were not made up very well during our stay.There were niggly oversights unfortunately. Breakfast was great quality and plenty of available items including gluten free .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The staff is excellent as always. For the first time I was placed in a room ta the Ground floor, looking at the main road. Impossible to open the curtains, even in the sunniest of days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Lovely modern hotel, close to shops and cinema.

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Everything really from the decor, my spacious clean and modern room, the staff etc etc
Cons: Room service could be improved see comments above.
Location: The hotel is in a fabulous location, close to the shops and restaurants without being noisy. The vue cinema is also very close by.
Was made to feel really welcome from the moment i arrived. The reception staff were so helpful and professional. Asked for a quiet room and it didn't dissapoint and was so clean and spacious and excellent for the money. Slept like a baby and a lovely bonus that check out isn't until 12 noon as well. If i had one complaint it was regarding room service. Whilst the staff were very polite, i had to ring them on 3 separate occasions to ask for missing condiments, a drink order that was missing and there was no glass or ice for one of my drinks. Such was promptly rectified though and I received two free Costa Coffee vouchers for the hotel coffee shop to use whilst i was staying in the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

very good position for the centre of town

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: the position for walking around the town
Cons: lighting
Location: ideal for walking in and out of town
found the room dark and cold - poor lighting and little day light with one small window. One bulb was out too. I went down to reception to report both as i was not sure how the heating worked. Was told someone would come to replace the bulb and show me the heating. I worked the heating out for myself and the bulb was not replaced at any point during my 3 night stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Fantastic location to city

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Extremely close to city centre and easy to find.
Initially chose this for ease of access to city centre. Parking not free but close by and reduced rates with hotel. All staff were extremely polite and helpful, especially Neha. Food was excellent both in choice and quality. Room spacious and comfortable with great anthropomorphic facilities. Have nothing to complain about at all and wethoroughly enjoyed our stay with vows to return!! Many thanks
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds

Worst hotel stay ever

Posted Mar 6, 2017
I asked for a quiet room as I am a vet light sleeper. We were woken at regularl intervals by crowds of shouting,and drunken laughter outside our window. There was obviously a club of some sort within close proximity. The pillows on our bed were uncomfortable. The whole experience was not an enjoyable one
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ashford

Great hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017
We had a great overnight stay. Room comfortable and clean. We had a family room, which although on the tight side for 3, was more than adequate for a short stay. The breakfast was particularly good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE England

OK-ish

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Comfortable Room. Clean. Convenient location.
Cons: Although staff were friendly they seemed rather inexperienced overall.
Location: Short walk to Exeter city centre.
Stayed 2 nights. Comfortable room and bed. Nice bathroom. Very clean. Quite noisy during the night but my stay was over the weekend. Slow check in (large party checking in before me) and slow check out (I had been over-charged). Room service did not answer the phone and I had to go downstairs to reception to order food (?!) Hotel is ok for the price but I won't be rushing back any time soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pillows too firm and deep but otherwise rooms comfortable and nice. Location excellent for Exeter city centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good hotel for short stay

Posted Feb 26, 2017
It was overall a good value for money, very friendly staff and clean rooms. unfortunately stayed at the same time as some rowdy guest who made a lot of noise in common spaces, and hotel was just slightly farther than town center than I had originally thought but still within reasonable distance. Would recommend to anyone looking to spend a night or two in Exeter.