Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from East Midlands.

Been there before and will do so again!

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Quiet, attractive location, village amenities nearby, pleasant building, attractive garden / wooded setting. Warm, inviting communal rooms, fine fare.
Cons: Not much really.
Location: Located in a picturesque village on the edge of Dartmoor and set in pretty, accessible wooded gardens. Village features nearby.
Since our last visit, a year ago, the hotel in general and our room in particular, had been subject to considerable renovation. Simply, rejuvenated! Now looking much more upmarket and comfortable. The staff were as welcoming, polite and efficient as ever and the addition of evening meal facilities were a welcome innovation. Although this time, our two night stay meant we could not sample the fare. Breakfast was, as ever, more than adequate and of good quality. Well done all concerned.
4 out of 5
by Alan

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, beautiful room, very good staff. Would have been nice to have a bar or dinner but otherwise lovely hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Forest

Lovely overnight stay

Posted Feb 10, 2017
We stayed one night here during a weekend away. The hotel was very quiet, presumably as it is out of season, We only saw one other couple. Staff were very helpful, even booking us a table at a local pub for our evening meal. To be honest we were very tired and would have preferred to eat at the hotel, but they only serve breakfast. The room was pretty spacious and very clean, and the ensuite bathroom had a fantastic shower! The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The only thing I didn't like was the armchair in the room, it looked very stylish but was in fact pretty uncomfortable to sit in. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and home-like

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Welcoming and helpful staff. Close to moors and Lydford Gorge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Perfect base for walking/cycling break

Posted Dec 5, 2016
A very relaxing, warm and welcoming atmosphere, super comfy bed in 'Hay Tor' (all rooms named after tors on Dartmoor) Great selection of good places to dine nearby - the local village pub was wonderful 'The Castle'. Location was ideal for visiting the Lydford Gorge (NT) and market towns of Tavistock and Okehampton within 15 minute drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Lovely country house.

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Being from the city, the quiet atmosphere was brilliant. The house itself was lovely, inside and out. The room was amazing, especially the shower, loved the shower. Ideal place for walks and visits to nearby attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Excellent

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Lovely and quiet.
Cons: Nothing
Lovely spacious clean room and en suite. High quality finish. Nice friendly welcome. Excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: All good but unfortunately only stayed for two nights.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Near small village and Lydford Gorge which we walked around and would recommend. Only open up to 31st October as National Trust.
Tastefully decorated hotel and quiet. Room and bathroom small but beautiful. Area around delightful and good pub in village for evening meal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Beautiful peaceful hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Stunning location on Dartmoor, very comfortable luxury room. Staff were very friendly and food was delicious. Only drawback was the low and temperamental shower head- I'm only 5"4 but I had to duck to wet my hair and the temperature kept changing. Other than that we had a wonderful night away and I would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Excellent hotel in lovely location.

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel in lovely grounds. Staff very helpful (booking us a table in the local pub). Bed comfy, breakfast devine. For us it was an overnight stop travelling to Cornwall, and it was all round excellent. Would definitely visit again.