Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Midlands

Very pleasant Country House Hotel

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Location, situation, public rooms, breakfast, staff.
Cons: Better beds, shower didn't work properly, but bath was quite adequate. Fixtures & fitting now a little tired.
Location: Set in a pretty Dartmoor-side village, with decent pub and a 5 or 6 minute easy drive to Tavistock. Good walking country easily accessible.
Hotel is a converted and extended Country House, set in pretty gardens at the edge of a very pleasant village. Staff were most polite and attentive and went the extra mile to ensure a relaxing stay (one even sorted a glitch on my new cellphone!) Room and en suite was neat and quite comfortable, although a tad tired. Public rooms were spacious and well presented, with fine views over the garden. Breakfast was generous and well prepared / presented. All in all, a very pleasant couple of nights and we would be happy to return.
4 out of 5
by Geoff from Haywards heath

nice quiet stay for two nights.

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
Big car park , on entry greeted a shown to Hay Tor room. It's not a big room but enough to to enjoy. It's very clean and all you need in the room. Bedding nice and the bed is very comfortable. Sam who works there is very helpful and engages with the people staying there. Breakfast is also nice. In all a very nice stay well done
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Jolly up the breakfast!

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
friendly, comfortable room beautifully decorated but various fittings had not been finished off properly. Let down by breakfast - attractively presented but scrambled eggs seemed microwaved, had to self-toast bread which was just standard sliced and teapot and cups very difficult to hold (poor design)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Venue lovely but along way to go to be good !

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
First five minutes ok, but them started to go down hill. First impression ok, but nothing you required was forthcoming voluntarily you had to ask for everything if you could find a member of staff. First bed room was very nice and comfortable, but with no hot water and the cistern unable to flush which could not be fixed we were told we would be moved to another room only after asking a second time about the problems, no help to move again left to move ourselves. Food on the first night was dried up and not edible returned to kitchen with no apology, only given an explanation when we inquired later from the chef who did apologised. I could go on but after the first night we felt like going home. This Hotel has the ability to be very good but a smile would be nice and stop thinking they are very classy when the setting is lovely but the staff have along way to go to meet the service you would expect from the lovely venue.
5 out of 5
by Esme from Richmond

Stunning

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful location and fantastic accomadation! The building was stunning with a cute garden and the room was perfect and always clean. Breakfast was very good also!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Albans, UK

A great base from which to explore Dartmoor

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything.
Cons: The food was so good that it might be nice if the hotel eventually begins offering evening meals - although there are local alternative places to eat.
Location: Lydford is a quiet village on Dartmoor's western edge. It has a 'castle', a historic church (St Petroc's) and the amazing, impressive Lydford Gorge.
Initially, the Lydford House Hotel looks rather like the set of Agatha Christie's long-running play, 'The Mousetrap'. There was, however, nothing even remotely sinister about the place. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food was of a high quality - and the helpings were generous. The location of the hotel made it ideal as a base from which to explore Dartmoor - and further afield. The hotel's facilities (a spacious, well-appointed room with a comfy bed) and location (plenty of peace and quiet away from traffic noise) made it a splendid alternative to the pressures and stresses of the 'rat race'.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire UK

Lovely country house hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Pros: Excellent staff, large rooms, very good breakfast.
Cons: The hotel only serves afternoon tea. There is not a bar or restaurant, the nearest place to eat is the Castle Inn 2 miles away in the village.
Location: Lynford Gorge is worth a visit as are the surrounding towns. Being on the edge of Dartmore there are some excellent walks nearby.
The hotel has been refurbished to a very spec. It is set in lovely grounds where a bottle of wine can be enjoyed in the evening sun shine sitting out at a table on the front lawn
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yyc

Nice country place

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Great room, great food. I would stay here again. Friendly staff, quiet location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Room clean & comfortable, with excellent bathroom. Stay a little let down by breakfast - everything seemed microwaved (bacon, scrambled eggs etc), coffee was weak, staff less than attentive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chichester

Fantastic hote

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Brilliant hotel, great rooms and fantastic breakfast. We all had an amazing stay including our two dogs!