Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by James from Shaftesbury

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hosts, breakfast (large choice) very good and freshly cooked, afternoon tea and cake a great idea.Bed very comfortable, good clean and fresh room.
5 out of 5
by Ian from Treorchy

Great stay

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Great location lovey owners couldn't do enough for you very clean rooms nice size fabulous breakfast with great choice and nice little touches like home made cake will definitely go back again
4 out of 5
by michael from Wiltshire

Clean and freindly

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great location freindly staff, great breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Jane from High Wycombe

Short but sweet

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed here for 1 night only and it was great for what we needed - a comfy bed and a shower! It was more than adequate for us although we probably would have wanted a bigger room had we stayed longer. The breakfast choice and quality was superb with friendly hosts. On the downside we were woken early in the morning by other guests but that can't be helped in a B&B.
4 out of 5
by Mim from Eastleigh

nice basic hotel for short stay

Posted Oct 7, 2013
This is a nice small b & b, the owners were friwnsly the roons were clean and had all baaic you would need. The ensuite coyld have been cleaned a bit better. The onlt thing that was odd, was that there was no welcome sign at the door, you had to rinf bell which did not work, so had to ring to get in. the food was fantastic with a great choice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to sea front, very clean and well equiped.

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness and facilities.
Location: Very close to Paignton sea front, and easy walk to town centre.
Very friendly and efficient owners. A beautifully furnished and well equipped B&B. They have got all the little details right that make this place a cut above the rest.
4 out of 5
by Jonny from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Homely

Posted Apr 8, 2012
Very central. Helpful owners. Nice breakfast. Comfortable room.
5 out of 5
by Tracey from Weston super Mare

Nothing too much trouble

Posted Apr 3, 2012
Pros: Breakfast was exceptional, no wonder they have won awards
Location: Good position. 2 minute walk to high street or seafront
After being stuck on the motorway for an hour it was a delight to receive such a warm welcome from the owners Paul and Diane with homemade cake and hot drinks. The level of service continued throughout our stay. The breakfasts were exceptional with a choice of several dishes, homemade jams and nothing was too much trouble. The small touches such as robes in the bedroom and the fact that the owners were happy for you to bring takeaway into the dining room in the evening (even leaving plates) made the whole stay very special - in fact, just like home. We are hoping to return very soon.
5 out of 5
by Phill from London

Wonderful B and B in Torbay

Posted Nov 1, 2011
The first time I'd stayed in a B & B since I was a child (many years ago) so wasn't sure what to expect. This one was excellent. Many many small details such as chocolates on our pillows when we arrived, a shelf full of local guidebooks on the shelf in our room show that the owners really do go the extra mile in order to make their guests feel welcome. The breakfast was fantastic a great choice from full English to American, everything was delicious. I would certainly recommend the Merritt House for your stay on the English Riviera.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire.

Very welcoming.

Posted Aug 3, 2011
We took our dogs with us,and they were made so welcome,This guest house really goed the extra mile.would visit again.